Doing what is right is always going to be painful to our flesh

 

1 Peter 3:17Amplified Bible (AMP) 17 For it is better that you suffer [unjustly] for doing what is right, if that should be God’s will, than [to suffer justly] for doing wrong. 

 

We don’t always see an immediate reward when we do what is right.  Doing what is right may mean treating someone right who is not treating us right.  We belong to God and we do what is right for Him.  It is not up to the person wronging us to make things right.  God will reward us better than any person can.  We do what is right just for the love of God! 

 

1 Peter 4:1-2 (AMP)  4 Therefore, since [a]Christ suffered in the flesh [and died for us], arm yourselves [like warriors] with the same purpose [being willing to suffer for doing what is right and pleasing God], because whoever has suffered in the flesh [being like-minded with Christ] is done with [intentional] sin [having stopped pleasing the world], so that he can no longer spend the rest of his natural life living for human appetites and desires, but [lives] for the will and purpose of God. 

 

At some point in developing our relationship with God we choose to do what is right because it is right, not because we feel like doing it.  So many little things we don’t do when we know we should be doing it can pick away at our conscious a little bit at a time.  Doing what is right is always going to be painful to our flesh.  

 

Doing what is right even when we don’t feel like doing it is helping us to stretch and grow spiritually.  We all can go listen and be motivated by an awesome sermon.  Listening to that sermon is not painful, it is actually taking action with what we learn that is painful. 

 

1 Peter 4:19 (AMP) 19 Therefore, those who are ill-treated and suffer in accordance with the will of God must [continue to] do right and commit their souls [for safe-keeping] to the faithful Creator. 

 

Grace is not an excuse to continue to sin but rather the power of the Holy Spirit in our lives to enable us to do what is right.  When we seek God with our whole heart to do what is right, God will give us the strength we need to do it no matter what our situation is.  God can and will help us to become the person we want to be. 

 

1 Peter 2:15 (AMP) 15 For it is the will of God that by doing right you may silence (muzzle, gag) the [culpable] ignorance and irresponsible criticisms of foolish people. 

 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God to let Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart: 

 

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen.

 

 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

