Jesus came so we can love Him, love ourselves, and fulfill His purpose

John 15:9 (AMP) I have loved you just as the Father has loved Me; remain in My love [and do not doubt My love for you].

We have to be purposeful about loving people and life.  We really cannot love anyone until we let God love us and until we love ourselves.  When we receive God’s love then we love ourself – not in a selfish way but in a healthy way.  When we love ourselves we are able to give to others as a secure and confident person.  Jesus came so we can love Him, love ourselves, and fulfill His purpose for our lives with God-confidence and self-confidence.

How wonderful to be free to be the person you were born to be and to be confident in the creature God created you to be.  A lot of time we turn to self-condemnation when we make mistakes.  We can hate our mistakes without hating ourselves.  I am a master mistake maker and it can be tough for me to separate the hate of the mistake from feeling self-condemned and even self-hate.  The devil uses those mistakes to keep us from loving ourselves, loving others, and fulfilling our God given purpose in life.

1 John 4:16 (AMP) 16 We have come to know [by personal observation and experience], and have believed [with deep, consistent faith] the love which God has for us. God is love, and the one who abides in love abides in God, and God abides continually in him. 

A lot of us are not secure in ourselves – we don’t love ourselves and we are just plain unhappy.  To really love and enjoy life we have to get the word hate out of our vocabulary.  We say the word hate several times a day about simple little everyday tasks.  We hate it when it rains on the way to work, we hate housework, we hate our hair, etc.  It is time to completely remove that word from our vocabulary – especially when it comes to everyday tasks.  It frames a mindset for us and forms an attitude that we don’t even realize we have formed. 

1 John 3:11 (AMP) 11 For this is the message which you [believers] have heard from the beginning [of your relationship with Christ], that we should [unselfishly] love and seek the best for one another;

When we start to understand the love of God and love God we learn to love ourselves then we can properly love and help other people.  Our purpose is to feed the sheep.

John 21:17A (AMP) 17 He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love Me [with a deep, personal affection for Me, as for a close friend]?” Peter was grieved that He asked him the third time, “Do you [really] [a]love Me [with a deep, personal affection, as for a close friend]?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know everything; You know that I love You [with a deep, personal affection, as for a close friend].” Jesus said to him, “Feed My sheep.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God to let Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

