Self –control is an amazing freedom

John 8:31-32 (AMPC) 31 So Jesus said to those Jews who had believed in Him, If you abide in My word [hold fast to My teachings and live in accordance with them], you are truly My disciples. 32 And you will know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free.

There is freedom in self-control. It is not just hearing the truth that makes us free; It is applying the truth to our lives that makes us free. It’s easy to tell others what to do with their lives but difficult to apply what we tell others to do in our own lives. We are not going to give an account for the lives of others – but our own life. We are responsible for our personal actions.

Self-control requires doing what is right when we don’t feel like doing what is right when we know it will make positive changes in our lives. This means we have to do things and take actions that we may not feel like doing – like being kind to those who mistreat us. When we do what is right even though we don’t feel like it, we grow.

John 8:36 (AMPC)36 So if the Son liberates you [makes you free men], then you are really and unquestionably free.

Being free doesn’t mean we do whatever we want to whenever we want to – we are already free to do that – we have free will. Every action comes with a consequence. We often what to do what we feel like doing but we do not want to deal with the consequences of our actions. We have freedom to make choices in our lives that will produce great results in our lives and the lives of others.

A simple example of making a choice with a consequence: If we eat too much we will gain weight. The question is do you want the food more than you want to be healthy? The reward of self-discipline in this example is health. The reward of eating what we want when we want is being overweight. The same goes for our spiritual life – we can make decisions that will result in great rewards for our life. We will reap what we sow.

Romans 7:19-21 (AMPC)19 For I fail to practice the good deeds I desire to do, but the evil deeds that I do not desire to do are what I am [ever] doing.20 Now if I do what I do not desire to do, it is no longer I doing it [it is not myself that acts], but the sin [principle] which dwells within me [[a]fixed and operating in my soul].21 So I find it to be a law (rule of action of my being) that when I want to do what is right and good, evil is ever present with me and I am subject to its insistent demands.

We can change a lot of things in our lives when we are willing to make better decisions. To say it is simple, to do it is extremely difficult for most of us because we want what we want when we want it. God will save us from ourselves and we can change with the help of God. Self –control is an amazing freedom. When you have freedom to control yourself you are no longer a slave to your desires and the approval of others.

Romans 7:24-25 (AMPC) 24 O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am! Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death? 25 O thank God! [He will!] through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One) our Lord! So then indeed I, of myself with the mind and heart, serve the Law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God to let Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self –control is an amazing freedom

  1. joyshimmers says:

    AMAZING!! ✨🙏

Leave a Reply

