Living in this biblical way sounds so great – but actually doing it can be a painful experience

We are not saved by good behavior alone, but by the condition of our heart. To condition our heart we have to develop a relationship with Christ.   When we develop a relationship with Christ we begin to see all the good things God has done with us. When we recognize God’s goodness then we want to behave because we are thankful for His grace.

Ephesians 5:21-25 (AMPC) 21 Be subject to one another out of reverence for Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One). 22 Wives, be subject (be submissive and adapt yourselves) to your own husbands as [a service] to the Lord. 23 For the husband is head of the wife as Christ is the Head of the church, Himself the Savior of [His] body. 24 As the church is subject to Christ, so let wives also be subject in everything to their husbands. 25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her,

Sometimes God will ask us to do some pretty difficult things. Submitting to authority and to our husband can be tough for a couple of us if we are not used to being submissive in life. But submission is a biblical principle. The respect goes two ways. This says for wives to obey their husbands and for husbands to love their wife’s as Christ loved the church and gave himself for the church.

Living in this biblical way sounds so great – but actually doing it can be a painful experience. It’s the learning how to apply the principle to our lives that is so incredibly tough. We are not going to get this right all the time and every time. We don’t always treat people kind because we feel like it but because we are a Child of God and we love God.

Being submissive is not letting people walking all over you but respecting those enough to let them have a say. God will lead us to know what is healthy in our relationship and what is not and He will guide us to do the right thing and how to react in the right ways. This really does not happen overnight, but rather, over time. Any time we have to change our lives to line up in accordance to God and it is not something we are used to doing we will have to spend a little time in the wilderness.

Ephesians 5:33 (AMPC) 33 However, let each man of you [without exception] love his wife as [being in a sense] his very own self; and let the wife see that she respects and reverences her husband [[a]that she notices him, regards him, honors him, prefers him, venerates, and esteems him; and [b]that she defers to him, praises him, and loves and admires him exceedingly].

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God to let Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

