Having depression is not as simple as putting a smile on our face and go about the day

Psalm 42:5 (AMPC) Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, my Help and my God. 

We can begin the practice of not letting people depress us. We can control what we eat and our activities but we cannot control people around us. The devil uses people and circumstances to upset us so we lose our joy. Being sad about our problems is not going to make the problem go away – that can really bring us down when we realize that.

Psalm 42:11 (AMPC) 11 Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, Who is the help of my countenance, and my God.

Depression is a deeper issue than being sad or having a bad day. Having depression is not as simple as putting a smile on our face and go about the day. Some things that doctors cannot fix – God can. God wants to heal us everywhere we hurt. He doesn’t just want to heal our body or physical sickness but also any spirit and mind sickness that we have. God can even work with doctors to help us receive the medical attention we need when we are hurting.

There are all kinds of things that can make us depressed – sometimes even certain types of foods can play a part in our mental health. Thinking about our problems all day more than our blessings can depress us. Not keeping ourselves busy can contribute to our sadness. Sometimes we cannot do a thing about how we feel – how we feel is how we feel. But, we can do something in what we choose to think and believe. It takes a thought change to think good thoughts in the midst of depression episodes.

It’s time to make joy a priority in our life. It is God’s desire for us to enjoy or life and live in the moment we are in. We do not have to like what is going on in our life to be happy. We are never going to be consistently happy if we don’t make a decision that we want to be happy.

Psalm 28:7 (AMPC) The Lord is my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shield; my heart trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song will I praise Him.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God to let Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

