Are you running from God or to God?

Jonah 1:9-11Amplified Bible (AMP) So he said to them, “I am a Hebrew, and I [reverently] fear and worship the Lord, the God of heaven, [a]who made the sea and the dry land.” 10 Then the men became extremely frightened and said to him, “How could you do this?” For the men knew that he was running from the presence of the Lord, [b]because he had told them. 11 Then they said to him, “What should we do to you, so that the sea will become calm for us?”—for the sea was becoming more and more violent.

When we have an intimate relationship with God we have to allow Him to do some digging in our personal lives. Are you dealing with the things God is confronting you to deal with? It is time to stop running from God. Just because we go to church each week it doesn’t mean we are not running from God. It can be incredibly difficult to deal with hurts and pain in our lives. When God leads us to deal with a hurt or pain, it is at that time we need to deal with the hurt so we can heal. When God leads us to heal in a situation then His anointing will be on the situation.

Jonah 1:17 (AMP) 17 Now the Lord had prepared (appointed, destined) a great [a]fish to swallow Jonah. And Jonah was in the stomach of the fish [b]three days and three nights.

There are times when we try to do things in a situation and the direction we take was not in God’s will. We get swallowed by the situation. When we really want something it can be tough to decipher sometimes if we are being led by God or by our own desire. It takes a little trial and error to discern when we are being led by God and when we are not. If a problem or situation is consuming you and you feel frantic all of the time, then likely you are trying to control a situation without God’s input or help.   Now if you have to do something difficult but yet you have a peace about something or you know that you know that you know it is the right thing that needs to be done no matter how difficult, then you are likely being led by God.

Running away never sets us free and anything that we fear has power over us and God just might put us right back where we started. Stop allowing a fish to swallow you before you go to God in your situation. When we learn to decipher and be led by God we will always come out on the other side.

Jonah 2 (AMP) 2 Then Jonah prayed to the Lord his God from the stomach of the fish, and said, “I called out of my trouble and distress to the Lord, And He answered me; Out of the belly of Sheol I cried for help, And You heard my voice. “For You cast me into the deep, Into the [deep] heart of the seas, And the currents surrounded and engulfed me; All Your breakers and billowing waves passed over me. “Then I said, ‘I have been cast out of Your sight. Nevertheless I will look again toward Your holy temple.’ “The waters surrounded me, to the point of death. The great deep engulfed me, Seaweed was wrapped around my head. “I descended to the [very] roots of the mountains. The earth with its bars closed behind me [bolting me in] forever, Yet You have brought up my life from the pit (death), O Lord my God. “When my soul was fainting within me, I remembered the Lord, And my prayer came to You, Into Your holy temple. “Those who regard and follow worthless idols [a]Turn away from their [living source of] mercy and lovingkindness. “But [as for me], I will sacrifice to You With the voice of thanksgiving; I shall pay that which I have vowed. Salvation is from the Lord!” 10 So the Lord commanded the fish, and it vomited Jonah up onto the dry land. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

