Are your actions as fruitful as your words?

John 14:15 (AMP) 15 “If you [really] love Me, you will keep and obey My commandments.

This scripture does not say that if you obey me I will love you – it says if you love me you will obey me. God’s love is for all of us. We do not earn his love. As our love for God grows we will find new levels of obedience. When we love God there are things we give up in life.

Who we are in Christ is our foundation for our Christian walk in life. How we behave is based on our love for Christ. If we teach others about God’s love before we throw rules of behavior at them, they just might have a good head start for walking out their Christian journey. 

Matthew 21:18-19 (AMP) 18 Now early in the morning, as Jesus was coming back to the city, He was hungry. 19 Seeing a lone fig tree at the roadside, He went to it and found nothing but leaves on it; and He said to it, “Never again will fruit come from you.” And at once the fig tree withered.

Just like this fig tree, a lot of Christians have leaves but no fruit. We speak the right words, but we produce no fruitful actions. God uses people to share God’s word with others. The way we live our lives preaches to others. Our words don’t mean anything unless we follow them up with the actions that are in alignment with the words we speak. We are to be an example for other people to follow. We are to let our deeds outweigh our words. When we say one thing and do the opposite it has a negative impact on people. That exact thing is what turns people away from Christianity today.

Of course all of us will make mistakes – but how about taking responsibility for the mistake and apologizing when needed. We have to be very careful with what we speak and how we act toward others.

2 Corinthians 5:20 (AMP) 20 So we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making His appeal through us; we [as Christ’s representatives] plead with you on behalf of Christ to be reconciled to God. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen


 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

