It is easier to quit and give up when things get tough

Luke 22:42-44 (ESV) 42 saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” 43 And there appeared to him an angel from heaven, strengthening him. 44 And being in agony he prayed more earnestly; and his sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.[a]

Jesus didn’t want to go through what he had to go through. It is okay for us to not want to do some of the things we have to do in life. We can follow the example of Jesus by following the will of God regardless of our feelings. God will send us the strength we need to endure difficult times. When we are facing difficult thing in life we can feel as if we have no strength or power in the situation. That is when God wants us to remember – our strength comes from Him to endure whatever it is God leads us to do in life.

We tend to want everything to be easy. It is easier to quit and give up when things get tough instead of choosing to endure the satiation. Many times once we endure we realize it was not that bad, we were just hoping things were going to be easier. We tend to have a quick fix, drive-through mentality today.

Luke 22:44 (ESV) 44 And being in agony he prayed more earnestly; and his sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.[a]

When we get the strength from God it doesn’t mean the battle we are facing is going to go away. The strength we get is for the battle. Jesus’ problem didn’t disappear, in fact he was crucified. But there was also a resurrection.

We live so much out of our own thoughts and emotions rather than a will that has been turned over to God. That is all of us. Nobody looks forward to going through difficult times and why would we when we know we will suffer? We must keep our eye on the end prize that God has in store for us. God has a purpose for each and every one of us and sometimes we have to go through some things for His will to be worked out in our lives.

It is up to us to choose to obey the will of God for our lives.

Deuteronomy 30:19-20 (AMP) 19 I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse; therefore, you shall choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants, 20 by loving the Lord your God, by obeying His voice, and by holding closely to Him; for He is your life [your good life, your abundant life, your fulfillment] and the length of your days, that you may live in the land which the Lord promised (swore) to give to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

