Love helps us to give up our need to be right all of the time

Romans 12:16 (AMP) 16 Live in harmony with one another; do not be haughty [conceited, self-important, exclusive], but associate with humble people [those with a realistic self-view]. Do not overestimate yourself.

Without humility we will never get along with people. Pride is a main reason for strife. We can learn to be less prideful for the sake of peace. I’m not saying not to stand your ground for your morals, but there are things we argue about in life that really don’t matter. We don’t have to guide our husband on how to drive, tell others how they should be doing their job, or share our opinion with others when it has not been sought after.

1 Corinthians 1:10 (AMP) 10 But I urge you, believers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you be in full agreement in what you say, and that there be no divisions or factions among you, but that you be perfectly united in your way of thinking and in your judgment [about matters of the faith].  

God is faithful and wants to bless us but we have to get the strife out of our lives and learn to get along. Love helps us to give up our need to be right all of the time. Being right is highly over-rated – especially when we are looking at sacrificing blessings the Lord has in store for us just because we want to prove our point.

When we get our point across we may feel like we have won an argument. While we may have got our point across, we may have displeased the Lord. The need to be right can steal our joy, peace, and happiness. How tragic to live a bitter life because we have so much pride and never truly get to enjoy our life.

James 4:1-2 (AMP) 4 What leads to [the unending] [a]quarrels and conflicts among you? Do they not come from your [hedonistic] desires that wage war in your [bodily] members [fighting for control over you]? You are jealous and covet [what others have] and [b]your lust goes unfulfilled; so you [c]murder. You are envious and cannot obtain [the object of your envy]; so you fight and battle. You do not have because you do not ask [it of God].

We try to make things happen by trying to control people and situations. When we can’t control people and things, we are upset. When we are upset it causes strife in our lives. It’s time we stop trying to control people and circumstances to get what we want and turn our desires to God. God will bless us with what is right for us and in the right timing. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

