We tend to focus more on the problem than what God is doing to bring us out of our problem

Psalm 28:7 (KJV) The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.

Annoying things happen to us all the time. These annoying things give us reason to complain about life. The devil wants to annoy us so we are unhappy all the time. The devil knows when he we lose our joy, we lose our strength. We do not need things to be great all of the time because we know the joy of the Lord is our strength! The real test of our Christianity is to trust God and remain happy no matter what is going on to us and around us.

We cannot display Christian behavior when we are murmuring and complaining about everything that does not seem to be right in life. Things are not always going to go our way. Life is real, and stuff happens. It is so challenging not to complain when things go wrong. As a Christian we have a responsibility in how we react to situations in life. I wish I could say I have mastered this area, but to be honest, I have a ways to go.

Numbers 21:4-7 (AMP) Then they set out from Mount Hor by the way of the [branch of the] Red Sea [called the Gulf of Aqabah], to go around the land of Edom; and the people became impatient, because [of the challenges] of the journey. So the people spoke against God and against Moses, “Why have you brought us out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? For there is no bread, nor is there any water, and we loathe this miserable food.”Then the Lord sent fiery (burning) serpents among the people; and they bit the people, and many Israelites died. So the people came to Moses, and said, “We have sinned, for we have spoken against the Lord and against you; pray to the Lord, so that He will remove the serpents from us.” So Moses prayed for the people. 

Right before these folks were complaining about the bread they were amazed by the miracle of bread falling from the sky because they were hungry. So many times we complain about the very thing that we pray for. We are no different than these people in this bible scripture. I have no idea why we have the tendency to complain all of the time, but we do. It is up to us to be aware of this behavior inside of us and conquer it as soon as we feel the urge to complain start to bubble up inside of us.

We tend to focus more on the problem than what God is doing to bring us out of our problem. Complaining is a huge problem for most people I know. Ask yourself if you are content most of the time or if it takes effort for others to keep you happy. Complaining stresses us out. Take a look at what you are complaining about and give consideration on the impact of the thing you are complaining about has on the big picture of life. If it’s a big impact, then do what you can in the situation, give to God what you cannot do, and stop complaining. We can take hold of the joy in store for us but when we are so busy complaining, we forget to be joyful in the midst of our situations of life.

Remember in the middle of your stresses, you have something to be joyful about. Find that something and focus on it the next time you are tempted to complain.

1 Corinthians 10:8-11 (AMP) We must not indulge in [nor tolerate] sexual immorality, as some of them did, and twenty-three thousand [suddenly] fell [dead] in a single day! We must not tempt the Lord [that is, test His patience, question His purpose or exploit His goodness], as some of them did—and they were killed by serpents. 10 And do not murmur [in unwarranted discontent], as some of them did—and were destroyed by the [a]destroyer. 11 Now these things happened to them as an example and warning [to us]; they were written for our instruction [to admonish and equip us], upon whom the ends of the ages have come. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

