Are we out to impress people with or life our God

1 Samuel 16:6-7 (AMP) So it happened, when they had come, he looked at Eliab [the eldest son] and thought, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is before Him.” But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees; for man looks [a]at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

We can learn to be more concerned about our inner life than the outer life. People see what is on the outside of us but God looks at our heart. Are we out to impress people with our life our God? Sometimes we are more concerned with how we appear to others and do things to impress people more than we look at the inward condition of our heart.

Galatians 1:10 (AMP) 10 Am I now [a]trying to win the favor and approval of men, or of God? Or am I seeking to please someone? If I were still trying to be popular with men, I would not be a bond-servant of Christ.

We need to become more concerned with our reputation in heaven than our reputation on earth. How many people change their God-given destiny to be popular with people? My guess is 100%. Everyone has likely done that at one time or another in our life time. Some of us continue to want to impress people so much that it has become a way of living.

Sometimes we end our day feeling exhausted and worn out. Why might it be that we feel like that? There can be many reasons, but one of the reasons is we are so busy doing things and adding things to our schedule – not because they need to be done but to get the approval of others. If you go home exhausted and have lost the peace you started your day with, give yourself a time-out and examine what it is you did that day and ask yourself why you did what you did. Was it something you were led by God to do?

We get so busy and used to our standard of living that we don’t even ask ourselves why we do some of the things we do. It is a good exercise to stop and examine our motives every once in a while. If we want outer power we have to work on inner purity.

Philippians 4:8 (AMP) Finally, [a]believers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable and worthy of respect, whatever is right and confirmed by God’s word, whatever is pure and wholesome, whatever is lovely and brings peace, whatever is admirable and of good repute; if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think continually on these things [center your mind on them, and implant them in your heart].

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are we out to impress people with or life our God

  1. Desiray says:

    We better be out to please God rather then man

Leave a Reply

