Discipline brings joy

Proverbs 19:11 (AMPC) 11 Good sense makes a man restrain his anger, and it is his glory to overlook a transgression or an offense.

Sometimes we get our feelings hurt – some of us are more sensitive than others. We will always have opportunities to be offended each and every day. People will say and do things that will hurt our feelings. When that happens it is up to us to believe the best and keep our peace. God has given us the spirit of discipline and self-control so we can control our reactions. We cannot control others, but we can control the way we react to others.

To be honest, some people don’t even mean to offend us and we are just plain touchy and sensitive. Some of us walk around with a chip on our shoulder from past hurts our whole lives and never heal. We are so good at blaming other people for the way feel. Our feelings are our responsibility. We will never be free from any problem in life if we are blaming someone else for it. God offers freedom for us to not live in the bondage of offense but we have responsibility in breaking that bondage.

Matthew 16:22-24 (AMPC) 22 Then Peter took Him aside [a]to speak to Him privately and began to reprove and [b]charge Him sharply, saying, God forbid, Lord! This must never happen to You! 23 But Jesus turned [c]away from Peter and said to him, Get behind Me, Satan! You are in My way [an offense and a hindrance and a snare to Me]; for you are [d]minding what partakes not of the nature and quality of God, but of men. 24 Then Jesus said to His disciples, If anyone desires to be My disciple, let him deny himself [disregard, lose sight of, and forget himself and his own interests] and take up his cross and follow Me [[e]cleave steadfastly to Me, conform wholly to My example in living and, if need be, in dying, also].

The devil really wants to offend us in any way. He uses people and circumstances to upset us. When things are not going well in our lives we get offended. It is up to us not to take offense to the many opportunities we face each day. The devil will work day and night to deceive us in the area of being offended. The good news is that we are smarter than the devil and we can use the bible to fight His ploys against us.

One way to keep the strife out of our life is to not react to our emotions when bad things happen. This is not an easy thing to do, but the more you begin to discipline yourself to keep the strife out of your life the more peace you will have. The more peace you have, the more you want. Eventually you will crave peace and disciplining yourself to quickly get over being offended will not be so difficult.

As soon as we feel offense creeping up we should deal with it. We don’t want those feelings of offense to take root and grow into something bigger than it is. We can let it fester like a wound and it becomes poisonous in our lives. The treatment for that poison is to resist the devils ploy at its onset and study the word of God to quickly get over the offense.

Hebrews 12:11 (AMPC) For the time being no discipline brings joy, but seems grievous and painful; but afterwards it yields a peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it [a harvest of fruit which consists in righteousness—in conformity to God’s will in purpose, thought, and action, resulting in right living and right standing with God]. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

