We have to work to keep strife out of our relationships – it is not just going to happen

hilippians 1:9-10 (AMPC) And this I pray: that your love may abound yet more and more and extend to its fullest development in knowledge and all keen insight [that your love may [a]display itself in greater depth of acquaintance and more comprehensive discernment], 10 So that you may surely learn to sense what is vital, and approve and prize what is excellent and of real value [recognizing the highest and the best, and distinguishing the moral differences], and that you may be untainted and pure and unerring and blameless [so that with hearts sincere and certain and unsullied, you may approach] the day of Christ [not stumbling nor causing others to stumble].

We can get offended in many different ways such as being ignored, not being included in things, when someone is rude to us, when someone disagrees with us, and the list goes on and on, and on. Every one of us is diverse in thoughts and feelings. It is up to us to seek unity in diversity. Everyone is different and for a good reason – they all have different strengths and weaknesses. We were made to help each other out – not to argue about our differences.

Psalm 119:165 (AMPC) 165 Great peace have they who love Your law; nothing shall offend them or make them stumble. 

One thing we can put on our prayer list is not physical needs and desires but spiritual needs. One of those needs we can pray for is to not always fall into offense and to ask God to help us be humble enough to do whatever it is we need to do to maintain peace with situations and people in life. It is especially important to pray about this before you have to be around difficult people or people that you are not looking forward to being around.

Living in a state of offense constantly will stunt our spiritual growth. Offense steals our joy, peace, and just can make us plain miserable. We do not have control over people or situations but we do have control over the way we react to people and situations.

It is so easy to be offended in life. We are presented with the opportunities several times a day. It is up to protect our spirit and not grow cold. We have to work to keep strife out of our relationships – it is not just going to happen.

Matthew 24:10-13 (AMPC) 10 And then many will be offended and repelled and will [e]begin to distrust and desert [Him Whom they ought to trust and obey] and will stumble and fall away and betray one another and pursue one another with hatred. 11 And many false prophets will rise up and deceive and lead many into error. 12 And the love of [f]the great body of people will grow cold because of the multiplied lawlessness and iniquity,13 But he who endures to the end will be saved. 

Jesus paid a great price for us to have a great life. What a tragedy for us not to do what we need to do to experience that life He died for us to have. Be determined to take hold of what Christ Jesus died for you to have in life!

Philippians 3:12 (NIV) 12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

