God is always dealing with me about something

Proverbs 16:2-3 (AMPC) All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirits (the thoughts and intents of the heart). Roll your works upon the Lord [commit and trust them wholly to Him; He will cause your thoughts to become agreeable to His will, and] so shall your plans be established and succeed.

Motives can make us do some odd things. A lot of times we do things and we don’t even know why we do it. Sometimes our motives are even hidden from us. We can hide our motives from people and ourselves but we cannot hide them from God. God will guide us to the truth about ourselves so we can understand the hidden motives of our heart.

1 Corinthians 3:11 (AMPC) 11 For no other foundation can anyone lay than that which is [already] laid, which is Jesus Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

God is our foundation. God is the master builder of life. The motives we build our life with are extremely important. What kind of life are you building for yourself? Are you building a genuine life or a phony and fake life? Do you do things for recognition, to impress others, or because you love God? How many things do you do each day that you have no idea or thought of why you are doing it? How many things do you do in your life that you resent? If you resent doing something then you may be doing that thing with the wrong motive.

Matthew 6:1-4 (AMPC) 6 Take care not to do your good deeds publicly or before men, in order to be seen by them; otherwise you will have no reward [[a]reserved for and awaiting you] with and from your Father Who is in heaven. Thus, whenever you give to the poor, do not blow a trumpet before you, as the hypocrites in the synagogues and in the streets like to do, that they may be [b]recognized and honored and praised by men. Truly I tell you, they have their reward [c]in full already. But when you give to charity, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, So that your deeds of charity may be in secret; and your Father Who sees in secret will reward you openly.

We can learn to do what we do for God and not to impress anyone else. It is good to do things just because it is the right thing to do. I wonder how many blessings we give up because we are doing things with the wrong motives. This includes things we do at church, at home, at work, and socially. God can help us get to the point where we don’t want to do anything without God’s approval. It takes some time to discern our personal motives, but it is possible. We have to want to work at it with God for it to happen, it won’t just happen overnight. God can help us see in our own heart what we do not see. It may be painful as we learn more about ourselves, but imagine the freedom when you learn to live not to impress anyone but God.

1 Corinthians 3:13-15 (AMPC) 13 The work of each [one] will become [plainly, openly] known (shown for what it is); for the day [of Christ] will disclose and declare it, because it will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test and critically appraise the character and worth of the work each person has done. 14 If the work which any person has built on this Foundation [any product of his efforts whatever] survives [this test], he will get his reward. 15 But if any person’s work is burned up [under the test], he will suffer the loss [of it all, losing his reward], though he himself will be saved, but only as [one who has passed] through fire. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

