Getting to know God takes dedication, education, meditation, and application

Joshua 1:7-9 (AMPC) Only you be strong and very courageous, that you may do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you. Turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go. This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may observe and do according to all that is written in it. For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall deal wisely and have good [a]success. Have not I commanded you? Be strong, vigorous, and very courageous. Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

We must be willing to take a stand and do things to please God. We have to stop thinking about what everyone else thinks. It is up to us to be true to our beliefs and to who we are. We are going to stand before God and give an account for our life – not for the lives of the people who we constantly try to please. It is time to stop bowing down to the stupidity in the world and rise up and make right choices for ourselves.

In order to take a stand to do what is right we must know what the bible says about living life. We cannot walk out the Word of God in our lives if we do not know what it says, or understand it. We are putting a lot of responsibility on a person if we expect a preacher to download everything onto us that they know. I would rather read the Word and understand it for myself. Not all preachers interpret the bible the same way. Of course the basic principles are the same but the doctrine is different from church to church. It is up to you to know and understand the Word of God for yourself.

Going to church and watching teachings on Christ is a super great thing. But we must understand the Word well enough to be able to discern what we hear. God’s word instructs us on what to do. If you have questions on what you hear in a sermon or read in a book, then go home and study that for yourself. Pray to God that He help you to give you understanding.

God’ word is full of life and power! It has the power to make amazing things happen in our lives. Getting to know God and His word personally takes dedication, education, meditation, and application. We have to be dedicated and disciplined to put time aside to learn what we can. We have to take time to educate ourselves, and we then take time to meditate on the Word of God. When we start to understand the Word of God then we can start applying it to our everyday life.

Hebrews 4:12 (AMPC) 12 For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the [a]breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

