We always have a choice when facing offense

Mark 4:14-17 (AMPC) 14 The sower sows the Word. 15 The ones along the path are those who have the Word sown [in their hearts], but when they hear, Satan comes at once and [by force] takes away the message which is sown in them. 16 And in the same way the ones sown upon stony ground are those who, when they hear the Word, at once receive and accept and welcome it with joy; 17 And they have no real root in themselves, and so they endure for a little while; then when trouble or persecution arises on account of the Word, they immediately are offended (become displeased, indignant, resentful) and they stumble and fall away.

It is easy to be offended – even offended at God. We get offended at God because our life has not turned out the way we think it should have. Trials in life can make us just plain bitter. Some people even use trials as an excuse to not believe in God. Suffering is not God’s fault, man has free choice and creates much of the suffering we endure. We will have issues in the world and things we need to go through. The best time to trust God is when we are facing a trial.

It seems like we just don’t think bad things should happen to us. For example when something bad is happening to someone else we tend to tell them to trust God. However when bad things happen to us and someone tells us to trust God we can get offended by them. When we get offense in our heart it slows our spiritual growth. Resentment makes us bitter.

It is easy to say we will apply what we learn in the bible to our lives but until we face a trial we really don’t know how we will apply what we learn. Satan is going to do everything He can to ensure we do not grow spiritually. We always have a choice when facing offense. We can get offended and choose to feel bitter or we can pray to not be offended, trust God, and grow spiritually. The choice is ours.

Psalm 94:12-13 (AMPC) 12 Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whom You discipline and instruct, O Lord, and teach out of Your law, 13 That You may give him power to keep himself calm in the days of adversity, until the [inevitable] pit of corruption is dug for the wicked.

Walking out our trials helps us to grow spiritually and it also helps us to understand what others might be going through when they face difficult things in life. When we understand what others are going through we can support them with a loving, caring, and understanding heart.

God has a plan for us in our trial, so don’t give up on God in the middle of a trial. We will not always have an easy out or a miracle in the midst of our problems.

Hebrews 12:15 (AMPC) 15 Exercise foresight and be on the watch to look [after one another], to see that no one falls back from and fails to secure God’s grace (His unmerited favor and spiritual blessing), in order that no root of resentment (rancor, bitterness, or hatred) shoots forth and causes trouble and bitter torment, and the many become contaminated and defiled by it— 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

