Little offenses can become great problems

Proverbs 19:11 (AMPC) 11 Good sense makes a man restrain his anger, and it is his glory to overlook a transgression or an offense.  

It is easy to get offended. Some of us get offended easier and more often than others. We will always have opportunities to be offended. When we are tempted to feel offended we have to choose to believe the best and keep our peace. We cannot control what others do but we can control ourselves and our reactions to situations. Our emotions are fickle and can keep us from progressing spiritually when we react to them negatively.

We have to want to keep strife out of our lives in order to keep it out. That means we might have to be the one to be the peacemaker in situations. Anger and bitterness does not change the situation or the people around us. Staying angry hurts us, not those around us. Nor does being angry change a situation.

Not matter what is going on in life we have opportunities to get upset and have strife in life. The devil wants us to be upset. Offense is a trap. Offense is bait Satan uses to keep us from progressing and moving forward in life. The devil will work day and night to deceive us. We have the Word of God we can use to defeat the traps of the devil.

There are so many angry people in the world and in church today. Some people have been angry and bitter for so long they don’t even realize they have bitterness inside of them. Little offenses can become great problems in our lives and even change our personality. Sometimes I don’t realize I have offense in me until I’m around a certain person or situations.

Proverbs 17:14 (AMPC) 14 The beginning of strife is as when water first trickles [from a crack in a dam]; therefore stop contention before it becomes worse and quarreling breaks out.

When we get offended we need to ask ourselves if that person would really mean to offend us. Sometimes the answer is yes, but many times, we are just plain overly-sensitive. We can take responsibility for being offended. That means when we feel offended – we do something about it so the offense does not turn into bitterness, resentment, and anger. It is better to confront and deal with our feelings at the time they occur rather than stuffing them deep down. It is better to take care of a problem when it is little before it develops roots and grows out of control.

We will never be free from any problem as long as we are blaming other people. We can be free no matter what other people do. We can. We are responsible for running our life in a way that we can enjoy it. It is time to stand up for yourself and refuse to live in the bondage of offense, bitterness, and anger. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

