The world may change but the Word of God remains the same as it was yesterday

1 Corinthians 5:9-11A (AMPC) I wrote you in my [previous] letter not to associate [closely and habitually] with unchaste (impure) people— 10 Not [meaning of course that you must] altogether shun the immoral people of this world, or the greedy graspers and cheats and thieves or idolaters, since otherwise you would need to get out of the world and human society altogether! 11 But now I write to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of [Christian] brother if he is known to be guilty of immorality or greed, or is an idolater [whose soul is devoted to any object that usurps the place of God], or is a person with a foul tongue [railing, abusing, reviling, slandering], or is a drunkard or a swindler or a robber. [No] you must not so much as eat with such a person.

We cannot avoid everyone in the world, or we would live in seclusion the rest of our lives. What we can do is be careful about who we hang out with if they have a tendency to be toxic in our lives. It is okay to be with people who we can help but we need to be careful that we are impacting their lives in a positive way rather than letting them impact our lives in a negative way.

We have really gotten good at just putting up with behavior that is not acceptable in the sight of God. If you have a friend that is a constant gossiper and you know God is not fond of gossiping then you need to make a decision if you want to keep the person with the constant poison speech in your lives. We can of course let the person know that we are not comfortable with the negative speech but if they don’t care, then we need to make a decision whether or not that relationship is toxic for us or not. This doesn’t mean we are judging the person but we have to protect our spirit. This doesn’t mean we should not befriend people who need help because we should, but we must stay aware of how we are impacting one another in the relationship.

There are many things that people approve of that God does not approve of. It is up to us to know what God’s word has to say about daily living and not fall into worldly ways of living. Living for God does not mean we have to be perfect – because we will never be perfect. But, it does mean that we have a heart that loves God and wants to please God with our decisions and actions each day.

I cannot even imagine being raised today. The world has deemed so many things acceptable that definitely were not acceptable when I was growing up. The world may change but the Word of God remains the same as it was yesterday. We do not have to be judgmental and rude to people who have different beliefs, but we can love them where they are, and share the love of God with them. It is up to them whether or not to accept that Word. If they are not ready to receive the word, then we pray for that person and pray to God and ask Him to show us how we can be used in this situation. We have to follow God’s lead and not our judgmental attitude when in this kind of situation.

When Christians come off with the judgmental attitude we tend to chase people away from Christianity rather than chasing them toward it. We cannot use guilt to guide people to a moral life, we must use love. Trust me, people who have fallen from grace already feel guilty.

Romans 8:37-39 (AMPC) 37 Yet amid all these things we are more than conquerors [a]and gain a surpassing victory through Him Who loved us. 38 For I am persuaded beyond doubt (am sure) that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities, nor things [b]impending and threatening nor things to come, nor powers, 39 Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

