We need to be in touch with our feelings but we need to deny them the right to control us

Ephesians 4:26-27 (AMPC) 26 When angry, do not sin; do not ever let your wrath (your exasperation, your fury or indignation) last until the sun goes down. 27 Leave no [such] room or foothold for the devil [give no opportunity to him].

It is time to learn to fight like a Christian. Being angry is not the way to fight. We have to deal with our anger and learn how to handle it. Anger is an emotion that is very powerful. We don’t have to feel guilty for feeling anger – it is how we deal with our anger that is important.

We will all have times when we feel angry. We cannot help how we feel but we can help how we behave. Just because I feel a certain way I do not have to react to the way I feel. We have feelings but we do not have to let our feelings have us. Feelings are very unreliable and unpredictable. Sometimes they are good and sometimes they are not.

Maybe if we paid less attention to what we feel – we would live more in the spirit. As much as I wish my feeling would go away, they will not so instead of changing how we feel – God changes us. We can pray to behave the same no matter what is going on in our lives – that is a big challenge for every single one of us.

We love telling people how we feel. We definitely need to be in touch with our feelings but we also need to deny them the right to control us. When we stop giving into our feelings they begin to lose power over us. We all have a free will and we can make a choice. We can take negative thoughts captive at the onset when they become a thought in our mind and resist the devil’s temptation and react to our temptation. Although it is very difficult it is also very possible. It takes practice and discipline. Self-control is a fruit of the spirit given to us so we can control – ourselves.

The sooner we take action against our feelings of anger the better. Anger that is not controlled is poison to our soul. When we allow ourselves to get bitter and angry it can prohibit God from working with us fully. God has a great plan for us! 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

