Even though people might not forgive us, we must forgive ourselves

Romans 7:15 (AMP) 15 For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled and bewildered by them]. I do not practice what I want to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate [and yielding to my human nature, my worldliness—my sinful capacity].

I would venture to say that each and every one of us do at least one thing each day that we wish we would not have done. Many of us have a lot of negative things going on in our lives. Some of those negative things are things that are happening is a direct result of our own choices. We know we need to change, but we just can seem to change.

Isaiah 41:10 (AMP) 10 ‘Do not fear [anything], for I am with you; Do not be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, be assured I will help you; I will certainly take hold of you with My righteous right hand [a hand of justice, of power, of victory, of salvation].’

Why do we do things that we know we shouldn’t? Sometimes fear is one major cause of not changing. Change takes a whole lot of courage. God can and will help provide the courage we need. God is our partner and on our side at all times.

Galatians 1:10 (AMP)10 Am I now [a]trying to win the favor and approval of men, or of God? Or am I seeking to please someone? If I were still trying to be popular with men, I would not be a bond-servant of Christ.

Another fear of making a change is worrying about what our friends might think of us when we change to do things better. If your friends truly love you, they will want the best for you and be by your side, especially if you are trying to change to make a better life for yourself.

James 4:10 (AMP) 10 Humble yourselves [with an attitude of repentance and insignificance] in the presence of the Lord, and He will exalt you [He will lift you up, He will give you purpose].

There’s also a lot of fear felt when we just plain have to admit that we may have been the cause for our current circumstances. That involves humility and going to God and ask for forgiveness and help moving forward. We may be led to apologize to people who we may have hurt in our lives. When we are hurt, oftentimes we hurt others. It certainly is not intentional, but it is a pattern that we develop. Apologizing is not ever easy.   Sometimes, taking responsibility and apologizing to those we have hurt will help us on our personal journey of spiritual growth. Pride is a huge stumbling block for us when it comes to spiritual growth and can keep us from making an apology when it is needed.

Proverbs 29:25 (AMP) 25 The fear of man brings a snare, But whoever trusts in and puts his confidence in the Lord will be exalted and safe.

Then there’s the fear of what if the people who we have damaged relationships with do not want to get back into relationship with us? We cannot expect for the people we apologize to want to come back into relationship with us. There may be times where the hurt is just too much for the other person. In those cases, do not give up. If the person is not ready to forgive, keep making progress. Never give up. You can only control your actions in the situation, not the way others react. Keep doing well regardless of any bad situation. Even though people might not forgive us, we must forgive ourselves and keep progressing forward. God will give us the comfort and strength we need to keep moving.

Romans 5:3-5 (AMP) And not only this, but [with joy] let us exult in our sufferings and rejoice in our hardships, knowing that hardship (distress, pressure, trouble) produces patient endurance; and endurance, proven character (spiritual maturity); and proven character, hope and confident assurance [of eternal salvation]. Such hope [in God’s promises] never disappoints us, because God’s love has been abundantly poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

