We need to stop wishing for what we do not have and start doing something with what we do have

Philippians 3:8-9 (AMPC)Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One), And that I may [actually] be found and known as in Him, not having any [self-achieved] righteousness that can be called my own, based on my obedience to the Law’s demands (ritualistic uprightness and supposed right standing with God thus acquired), but possessing that [genuine righteousness] which comes through faith in Christ (the Anointed One), the [truly] right standing with God, which comes from God by [saving] faith.

My confidence is not in anything I do, the way I look, my job, or my personal possessions. We always want to be like someone else or have something we don’t have. We need to stop wishing for what we do not have and start doing something with what we do have. Not everything we want is in God’s timing for us or it may not even be good for us to have. Instead of wishing for things we do not have – be thankful for what you do have. Be determined to be the best you that you can be – not a copycat version of someone else.

There’s two kind of righteousness. Rightness through following all the rules and doing what everyone expects – or we can accept the righteousness of God and give up trying to do everything perfectly and trying to please everyone around us by our actions.   Our worth and value are not in what is around us but rather in Christ. We are valuable to God just the way we are, plain and simple. What we have and our education does not qualify you to be used by God. If your heart is with God and you let Him use you in his way you will find yourself amazed at all of the wonderful things He does.

I would rather have God righteousness then self-achieved righteousness. When we have self-achieved righteousness we begin to do things for the approval of the people around us. It makes us feel good when we do things right and get the approval of others. Ask yourself in your pursuit of perfection if you are sacrificing God’s direction and planned path for your life. When we do things for approval of others and we are pursuing perfection we tend to get puffed up a little bit. When that happens we start to judge others who do not do things as well as we do and we begin to drift from what we know we should be doing to further our spiritual development. When you begin to get too self-righteous, God will humble you.

It’s not like we are not have to confidence in the things we do. Confidence is good but we need to remember that our abilities come from God – they are a gift. We tend to take that gift for granted from time to time. Ask God to show you balance in self-confidence and God-confidence. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

