We are not always going to like what we see in the mirror, but we can change

 

Psalm 26:2 (AMPC) Examine me, O Lord, and prove me; test my heart and my mind.

We all want to be free but we are not all good at facing truth. Sometimes God has to show us things in different ways before we understand. Truth is reality from God’s point of view. Truth is a central theme in the Word of God. Jesus is the Word of truth. We are the children of God who belong to the truth. We can pray for God to show us the truth that we need to see in ourselves – but we have to be ready for what He is about to show us. If you want to be guided into truth say this simple prayer: “God please, examine me, test me, and guide me into all truth. Amen.” Now, be ready for the result.

Lamentations 3:40 (AMPC) 40 Let us test and examine our ways, and let us return to the Lord!

We always have an opportunity to examine ourselves and return to the Lord. We examine ourselves so we can see our weak areas. There’s a lot to keep up with as a Christian and there is no way we can be perfect in every way. It’s up to us to pray about our actions and heart and continue to ask God to show us what we need to do. Each of us will give an account of ourselves for our own actions. We never know if Christ will return in our lifetime.

1 Corinthians 11:28 (AMPC) 28 Let a man [thoroughly] examine himself, and [only when he has done] so should he eat of the bread and drink of the cup.

It is time to get a serious relationship with God. It is so easy to become casual in our relationship with God. Getting serious with our relationship takes examination of our character. We are not always going to like what we see in the mirror, but we can change. We cannot expect that change to happen overnight and we can expect some character flaws that we thought we have overcome to creep up from time to time. That just is how life is. The thing is we just need to take our spiritual growth personally and work with God to grow.

There is much more than going to church on Sundays when we want to deepen our relationship with God. It is about getting to know God on a personal basis.   Our relationship with God is our responsibility. Not the responsibility of a preacher or teacher – but our responsibility.

1 Corinthians 11:31 (AMPC) 31 For if we searchingly examined ourselves [detecting our shortcomings and recognizing our own condition], we should not be judged and penalty decreed [by the divine judgment].

All of us can have a deeper walk with God. All of us. It doesn’t matter what our past our current circumstances are, God is there for all of us to have a great relationship with Him. We can actually get so busy that we avoid having a relationship with God and use being busy as an excuse.

Galatians 6:4 (AMPC) But let every person carefully scrutinize and examine and test his own conduct and his own work. He can then have the personal satisfaction and joy of doing something commendable [[a]in itself alone] without [resorting to] boastful comparison with his neighbor. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

