We have an opportunity to set a standard for future generations

 

1 Corinthians 5:9-11 (AMPC) I wrote you in my [previous] letter not to associate [closely and habitually] with unchaste (impure) people— 10 Not [meaning of course that you must] altogether shun the immoral people of this world, or the greedy graspers and cheats and thieves or idolaters, since otherwise you would need to get out of the world and human society altogether! 11 But now I write to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of [Christian] brother if he is known to be guilty of immorality or greed, or is an idolater [whose soul is devoted to any object that usurps the place of God], or is a person with a foul tongue [railing, abusing, reviling, slandering], or is a drunkard or a swindler or a robber. [No] you must not so much as eat with such a person. 

You cannot avoid everyone who you think may not have the same moral character as you, otherwise you would need to remove yourself from this world. You may also have Christian friends who habitually make bad moral choices. It’s cool to still be friends with people you can positively impact but it is important to not let their behavior start to change your ideas on what is acceptable morally and what is not. What happens sometimes when we hang around friends who may not have great moral behavior we begin to lower our morals little by little and begin to change our moral values. We need to protect our spirit to the best of our abilities. That means we might need to make some tough choices in the area of friendship and draw some boundaries.

It can be dangerous for us to have a casual attitude toward sin. There are many things the world approves of that is not okay in the Word of God. The Word of God does not change with the times we are living in, it remains the same. It will always remain the same. It is beneficial for us to know the Word of God and to teach the Word of God to our children because it gets watered down generation after generation.

We have an opportunity to set a standard for future generations. Today is a tough time to live in. It can’t be easy being young today. The world is doing everything to get rid of God today. We are to be a light in this dark world. That doesn’t mean speaking constantly about God, but living a life that pursues holiness and shows the love of God to everyone we interact with. This can be tough, but God will give us the grace to be the person He wants us to be.

Philippians 2:14-16 (AMPC) 14 Do all things without grumbling and faultfinding and complaining [[a]against God] and [b]questioning and doubting [among yourselves], 15 That you may show yourselves to be blameless and guileless, innocent and uncontaminated, children of God without blemish (faultless, unrebukable) in the midst of a crooked and wicked generation [spiritually perverted and perverse], among whom you are seen as bright lights (stars or beacons shining out clearly) in the [dark] world, 16 Holding out [to it] and offering [to all men] the Word of Life, so that in the day of Christ I may have something of which exultantly to rejoice and glory in that I did not run my race in vain or spend my labor to no purpose. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

