Change and growth is a journey not an incident

 

John 16:7 (AMPC) However, I am telling you nothing but the truth when I say it is profitable (good, expedient, advantageous) for you that I go away. Because if I do not go away, the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Advocate, Intercessor, Strengthener, Standby) will not come to you [into close fellowship with you]; but if I go away, I will send Him to you [to be in close fellowship with you].

The Holy Spirit offers us guidance and leadership. It is up to us to seek that guidance so we know what God wants us to do in situations in life. The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Jesus. Jesus came as the son of man and could be in one place at one time. Jesus did great things during his short time on earth. The Holy Spirit can be everywhere at the same time and work with us and conform us into the image of Jesus Christ. We can develop a personal relationship with the Holy Spirit. Doing so will help us to make choices for our lives. The Holy Spirit is our counselor, helper, advocate, intercessor, strengthener, and standing by all of the time – any time we need him.

John 16:8-11 (AMPC) And when He comes, He will convict and convince the world and bring demonstration to it about sin and about righteousness (uprightness of heart and right standing with God) and about judgment: About sin, because they do not believe in Me [trust in, rely on, and adhere to Me]; 10 About righteousness (uprightness of heart and right standing with God), because I go to My Father, and you will see Me no longer; 11 About judgment, because the ruler (evil genius, prince) of this world [Satan] is judged and condemned and sentence already is passed upon him.

The Holy Spirit has the job of convicting us to do the right thing and make the right choices. We waste a lot of time trying to bring the people to conviction to do the right thing – that is not our job. We cannot change anybody else but we can pray that if they truly need changing that God will do the work and then also pray that while God is doing to work in someone else, he changes us as well. 

John 16:12-13 (AMPC) 12 I have still many things to say to you, but you are not able to bear them or to take them upon you or to grasp them now. 13 But when He, the Spirit of Truth (the Truth-giving Spirit) comes, He will guide you into all the Truth (the whole, full Truth). For He will not speak His own message [on His own authority]; but He will tell whatever He hears [from the Father; He will give the message that has been given to Him], and He will announce and declare to you the things that are to come [that will happen in the future]. 

The Holy Spirit will guide us throughout our life. We will be shown areas we need to grow in when the timing is right for us – that is why is seems like it is one thing after another in our journey. If God were to reveal through us all the areas we need to change all at once – we likely would not be able to see those flaws in ourselves at the time. When the God works through the Holy Spirit to reveal things to us, it is always the right time. Remember that when things are revealed to us and we feel convicted to change that the Holy Spirit is also our Counselor, Helper, and Strengthener. So not only will we be convicted to change, but we also have guidance and support as we go through that change. 

John 16:14-15 (AMPC) 14 He will honor and glorify Me, because He will take of (receive, draw upon) what is Mine and will reveal (declare, disclose, transmit) it to you. 15 Everything that the Father has is Mine. That is what I meant when I said that He [the Spirit] will take the things that are Mine and will reveal (declare, disclose, transmit) it to you. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

