Learning to think positively in a negative situation is one of the best things we can do for ourselves

1 Kings 19:1-5 (AMPC) 19 Ahab told Jezebel all that Elijah had done and how he had slain all the prophets [of Baal] with the sword. Then Jezebel sent a messenger to Elijah, saying, So let the gods do to me, and more also, if I make not your life as the life of one of them by this time tomorrow. Then he was afraid and arose and went for his life and came to Beersheba of Judah [over eighty miles, and out of Jezebel’s realm] and left his servant there. But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness and came and sat down under a lone broom or juniper tree and asked that he might die. He said, It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life; for I am no better than my fathers. As he lay asleep under the broom or juniper tree, behold, an angel touched him and said to him, Arise and eat.

Elijah who was a great profit and victorious was fearful of this one woman. Where do you think his fear came from? It could be that he was exhausted after the battle with all of the profits and maybe even worn down. We can experience great victories in life and then it seems one simple comment from someone or a situation can make us feel defeated. When we rest and have balance with relaxation and work, a lot of our problems may not appear as big as they are when we are exhausted. Elijah ran to the forest to have his pity party all by himself.

1 Kings 19:6-10 (AMPC) He looked, and behold, there was a cake baked on the coals, and a bottle of water at his head. And he ate and drank and lay down again. The angel of the Lord came the second time and touched him and said, Arise and eat, for the journey is too great for you. So he arose and ate and drank, and went in the strength of that food forty days and nights to Horeb, the mount of God. There he came to a cave and lodged in it; and behold, the word of the Lord came to him, and He said to him, What are you doing here, Elijah? 10 He replied, I have been very jealous for the Lord God of hosts; for the Israelites have forsaken Your covenant, thrown down Your altars, and killed Your prophets with the sword. And I, I only, am left; and they seek my life, to take it away.

The angel realized Elijah was tired and hungry and instructed him to eat. We have to take care of our physical health in order to face our journey with the right mind set. Being out of balance physically can make us out of balance spiritually.

If we are unhappy there is not one person that can make us happy. We have to do what we need to do to maintain spiritual balance in our life – and sometimes that includes taking care of our physical health.

Don’t waste any days feeling sorry for yourself and moaning over something in our life that we need to let go. Self-pity will get us nowhere but hopeless and depressed. This can be a daily battle for many of us. There are chemical imbalances that even cause depression – in those cases we do what we need to in order to ensure we are mentally healthy. If we know there are things we need to do in order to stay mentally prepared for the day, then it is up to us to do them. So if we know sleep deprivation causes our thinking to be off, it is up to us to do what we can to get the sleep we need to ensure our thinking stays right and in line with God’s thinking.

We can be powerful in life but we cannot be powerful if we are full of self-pity all of the time. Pity is always accompanied by negative thoughts. Learning to think positively in a negative situation is one of the best things we can do for ourselves. We do not have to feel like thinking positive and we do not have to think every thought that falls into our head. When a negative thought enters your mind, chase it out with a positive thought. It takes practice and time and it can be a continual discipline that needs to be applied. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

