There is great joy in being free – from youself

 

Galatians 5:19-21 (AMPC) 19 Now the doings (practices) of the flesh are clear (obvious): they are immorality, impurity, indecency, 20 Idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, anger (ill temper), selfishness, divisions (dissensions), party spirit (factions, sects with peculiar opinions, heresies), 21 Envy, drunkenness, carousing, and the like. I warn you beforehand, just as I did previously, that those who do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

On this list is idolatry. Idolatry includes thinking idolizing our own thoughts and feelings. We may think we don’t think highly of ourselves but idolatry can be thinking high of ourselves too often. We may not think about it this way but self-pity can be a form of self-idolatry. When we have our mind on ourselves constantly then we are not putting other things first in our lives.

We want to own our pain in a healthy way but if we wallow in our pain too long and do nothing but think about how everything goes wrong for us all of the time – that is what starts to become self-pity. There were times when I would feel sorry for myself because of my situation for days! It would cause nothing but depression and sadness in my life. When I turn inward and think about myself – my days are consumed with me. I cannot reach out and love others when I’m absorbed in my own pity party. Through the years I have found the only way I can be happy is to get my mind off of myself and start encouraging and doing things for others.

I’ve had some pretty big obstacle in my life – and to be honest – there is no way I could do anything about it. Things that make it easy for me to feel bad for myself and the situation I’m in. The thing is – I learned I cannot do anything about my situation – but God could and did and does. When I am so busy focusing on myself in self-pity – I only saw what I did not have – not what I could have and not what God can do in my situation. The only thing I got out of feeling sorry for myself was worn out and bitter.

Refuse to spend another day focusing on what you do not have and start focusing on the possibilities that you do have – because you have a God on your side who loves you right where you are in your situation. The more I reach out to others and get my mind off of myself, the happier I find myself. There is a great joy from being free – from yourself. Don’t let self-pity rob you of the life that God has for you. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen


 

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

