It is not up to us to convict someone to do something, that’s God’s job

John 8:2-8Amplified Bible, Classic Edition (AMPC) Early in the morning (at dawn), He came back into the temple [[a]court], and the people came to Him in crowds. He sat down and was teaching them, When the scribes and Pharisees brought a woman who had been caught in adultery. They made her stand in the middle of the court and put the case before Him. Teacher, they said, This woman has been caught in the very act of adultery. Now Moses in the Law commanded us that such [women—offenders] shall be stoned to death. But what do You say [to do with her—what is Your sentence]? This they said to try (test) Him, hoping they might find a charge on which to accuse Him. But Jesus stooped down and wrote on the ground with His finger. However, when they persisted with their question, He raised Himself up and said, Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her. Then He bent down and went on writing on the ground with His finger.

I do not want to be a stone thrower. But I know at times that flaw can creep up. That’s hard to admit but I think we have all sat in the judgement seat at one time or another in our lives. How many times have we judged someone for something we said we would never do and then we end up doing it in our lifetime? This is a tough topic to be honest with yourself about. God has forgiven me for so much and continues to do so each and every day. A way for me to show my thankfulness for his mercy is to show mercy to others.

Sometimes when we try to confront someone about their sin, we say way too much and we do not allow time for God to bring conviction to that person. It is not up to us to convict someone to do something, that’s God’s job. We have a tendency to try to guilt people into doing the right thing. We can point out something to someone, but then we should pray with and for that person and give God time to convict them.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

