We have a choice when bad things happen – live in a victim mentality or refuse to be the victim for the rest of our lives

Philippians 2:14-15 (AMP) 14 Do everything without murmuring or questioning [the providence of God], 15 so that you may prove yourselves to be blameless and guileless, innocent and uncontaminated, children of God without blemish in the midst of a [morally] crooked and [spiritually] perverted generation, among whom you are seen as bright lights [beacons shining out clearly] in the world [of darkness],

Sometimes it is hard to believe that all things are going to work out for good. Especially when we see so many negative things going on around us or us from being abused to murder. Any pain can turn into gain – not just for us, but also for somebody else. Our mess can become our message. We have a choice when bad things happen – live in a victim mentality or refuse to be the victim for the rest of our lives. We have to be intentional about turning bad things around. This is one of the most difficult thing for us to do.

We can start changing our mindset when we begin to look for the little things to be thankful for in our current situation. We then can start to look for what we can do with a very negative thing and turn it into something positive. Look at Candy Lightner the mother who started MADD – Mothers against drunk driving. She lost her 13 year old daughter, Cari by a hit and run drunk driver. She raises awareness nationwide and has changed legislation against this crime. She is doing something with a horrific satiation – and it is something positive.

Hebrews 11:6 (AMPC) But without faith it is impossible to please and be satisfactory to Him. For whoever would come near to God must [necessarily] believe that God exists and that He is the rewarder of those who earnestly and diligently seek Him [out].

When we complain about our situation or choose to live in our pain rather than overcome it– we can block many blessings. Not just blessings for ourselves but blessings for others. We can change an atmosphere, not just in our home, but also in our work, our church, and even our nation. It is up to us to have faith in God that he will work every single thing out for good.

Our heart has to change in order for us to remain thankful. It is not up to somebody else to change the world or a heart in some way – it is up to each and every one of us. We can be a positive influence on the world or a negative influence on the world, but the bottom line is that it is up to us what kind of influence we will be. God is there for us as we walk our journey in life and he will ensure that we will be greatly rewarded when we seek him diligently, faithfully, and with a thankful attitude. 

Isaiah 45:18-20 (AMPC) 18 For thus says the Lord—Who created the heavens, God Himself, Who formed the earth and made it, Who established it and did not create it to be a worthless waste; He formed it to be inhabited—I am the Lord, and there is no one else. 19 I have not spoken in secret, in a corner of the land of darkness; I did not call the descendants of Jacob [to a fruitless service], saying, Seek Me for nothing [but I promised them a just reward]. I, the Lord, speak righteousness (the truth—trustworthy, straightforward correspondence between deeds and words); I declare things that are right. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

