Each day we will make a bad choice, but don’t kick yourself, wake up the next day and do what you can not to repeat yesterday’s mistakes

 

Philippians 3:12 (AMP) 12 Not that I have already obtained it [this goal of being Christlike] or have already been made perfect, but I actively press on [a]so that I may take hold of that [perfection] for which Christ Jesus took hold of me and made me His own.

It was not always easy for Jesus to obey the will of God but he knew he was sent to do the will of God. Wouldn’t it be nice to have that Christ-like faith? I think most Christians want that faith, but we also know it is not an easy path too. We don’t do God a favor when we read the bible, we are doing ourselves a favor. It helps us to maintain the strength to make right decisions each and every day.

Romans 8:13-14 (AMP) 13 for if you are living according to the [impulses of the] flesh, you are going to die. But if [you are living] by the [power of the Holy] Spirit you are habitually putting to death the sinful deeds of the body, you will [really] live forever. 14 For all who are allowing themselves to be led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

We do not always have to feel like doing the right thing to do it. We have to discipline ourselves to do the right thing, because it is the right thing for us to do. God has given us a free will and it is up to us to do the right thing. Reading the bible can be cumbersome for some of us – when we do not read it for the right reasons. It’s not a task to be completed each day but rather a tool for growth.

1 Peter 5:8-9 (AMP) Be sober [well balanced and self-disciplined], be alert and cautious at all times. That enemy of yours, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion [fiercely hungry], seeking someone to devour. But resist him, be firm in your faith [against his attack—rooted, established, immovable], knowing that the same experiences of suffering are being experienced by your brothers and sisters throughout the world. [You do not suffer alone.]

We do not have to live in bondage and addictions every day. It is up to us to use our free will to make the choice to do things that are good for us to do. Good choices happen one good choice at a time. It is not something where there is a big huge change in a day, but rather a change that occurs with each and every choice we make throughout the day. Let Jesus into your choices. Pray for guidance on the choices you make each day and pray to resist temptation to make bad decisions each day. Each day we will make a bad choice, but don’t kick yourself, wake up the next day and do what you can not to repeat yesterday’s mistakes.

God will give us the strength and power to do what we need to do, but we do have to take some steps ourselves – we cannot expect a miracle from God every time we get ourselves in sticky situations. When we hunger for God to help us He will fill us with what we need to succeed. 

Matthew 5:6 (AMP) “Blessed [joyful, nourished by God’s goodness] are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness [those who actively seek right standing with God], for they will be [completely] satisfied. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

