Don’t be satisfied with mediocre. It’s time for us to grow in higher levels of holiness – we are dead to sin, but sin is not dead to us

John 10:10 (AMP) 10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance [to the full, till it overflows].

Every day can be a brand new start. God’s mercy is new every single day. Although our sin can be forgiven it doesn’t change the fact that sin can be a problem for all of us. Our usual mode of operation is sin, feel condemned, ask for forgiveness, feel sorry for ourselves, and move on. We can live a better life than that.

God hates sin. Not just because what it does to Him but what it does to us. God paid a great debt for our sins to be forgiven. God deserves our best – not just a somewhat effort from us – but our very best that we have to give. Luckily God forgives us each time we mess up. Don’t be satisfied with mediocre. It’s time for us to grow in higher levels of holiness. We are dead to sin, but sin is not dead to us.

Romans 6:11(AMP) 11 Even so, consider yourselves to be dead to sin [and your relationship to it broken], but alive to God [in unbroken fellowship with Him] in Christ Jesus.

We are dead to sin, but sin is not dead to us. Sin is a reality and something we deal with every day. All of us sin and fall short every day and we all must come to grips with that fact. Some of us don’t even realize we are sinning because we are used to the way we are living. Even the simple little things we have fallen into such as gossiping with friends at work, after church or judging others who are not like us. It is up to us to use our free-will and resist the temptations we are faced with each and every day.

1 John 4:10 (AMP)10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation [that is, the atoning sacrifice, and the satisfying offering] for our sins [fulfilling God’s requirement for justice against sin and placating His wrath].

Holiness is not following a bunch of rules and regulations, but living by the spirit. God gives us a tender heart toward Him and the Holy Spirit to help us to keep that tender heart. God will give us the ability to do anything He tells us to do and that includes abiding more by the guidance of the Holy Spirit in our life. God would not ask us to do something and then not give us the ability to do it. We have more power inside of us then we realize. By God’s grace and power we can do whatever God asks us to do.

Philippians 3:12 (AMP) 12 Not that I have already obtained it [this goal of being Christlike] or have already been made perfect, but I actively press on [a]so that I may take hold of that [perfection] for which Christ Jesus took hold of me and made me His own.

Have determination to live a Godly life in the world we live in today. We have to want and pursue Godliness because there is compromise everywhere we go. Don’t just go with everyone else but be determined to take hold of what Christ Jesus died for us to get. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

