We cannot control when our emotions will show up, but we can learn to not let them control us

Philippians 4:11-12 (AMP) 11 Not that I speak from [any personal] need, for I have learned to be content [and self-sufficient through Christ, satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or uneasy] regardless of my circumstances. 12 I know how to get along and live humbly [in difficult times], and I also know how to enjoy abundance and live in prosperity. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret [of facing life], whether well-fed or going hungry, whether having an abundance or being in need.

Are you a moody person or pretty even tempered? Or maybe a mixture of the both. It is unpleasant to be around those with unstable moods. The greatest thing we can do is learn to be the same on days when things are going well as well as when things are not going so well. This can be incredibly difficult. When things start to go wrong, I ask myself – am I upset because of the situation or am I upset because I cannot control the situation? God doesn’t want us to have answers for everything, he wants us to trust him.

Whatever is coming my way will work out for good no matter what. We cannot look at our life from one situation or one day, we have to look at our life from a whole. When we start to look at it from a whole it might help us to get over some of those more difficult days.

We cannot control when our emotions will show up, but we can learn to not let them control us. We are not always going to feel the way we would like to feel. Emotions come and go. They are there when we do not want them and not there when we do want them. It is not a sin to feel anger but we should not let the anger control us. We cannot help how we feel but we can ask God to help us control how we act out our feelings.

We can learn to think our own thoughts – and not think thoughts according to how we feel for the day. The way we react to our feelings can cause people to have a great day or cause people to have a bad day. It is time to stop worshipping our feelings and start worshipping our God. We have the choice of moving beyond our feelings and do what is right.

Isaiah 55:10-11Amplified Bible (AMP) 10  “For as the rain and snow come down from heaven, And do not return there without watering the earth, Making it bear and sprout, And providing seed to the sower and bread to the eater, 11So will My word be which goes out of My mouth; It will not return to Me void (useless, without result), Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. 

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

