Reading the bible and applying it to our lives are two very different things

John 8:31-32 (AMP) The Truth Will Make You Free 31 So Jesus was saying to the Jews who had believed Him, “If you abide in My word [continually obeying My teachings and living in accordance with them, then] you are truly My disciples. 32 And you will know the truth [regarding salvation], and the truth will set you free [from the penalty of sin].”

Most of us think we know more than we really do. When we think we know more than we do then we are not open to learning anything. Just because we hear things more than once it doesn’t mean we know it. There are degrees of knowing something. There’s hearing and understanding and hearing things and applying what we hear to our lives. We can know something in our mind but not know it enough to let it impact or change our behavior.

Understanding the truth and applying the truth of the bible to our lives are two different degrees of knowing. When we really know the love of God we do not question our circumstances when things are not going the way that we think they should be going. But when we know and understand the love God has for us, we know God is working everything out for our good.

Knowledge is so easy to get – and there is a lot all around us. We take in a lot of information – but do we really know and understand all of the information that we take in?   Sometimes we can listen to something and get two different messages depending on where we are in life. It can take a few repetitions of reading and listening to the Word for it to become revelation in our lives. When we apply the knowledge we have then we know we understand what we have taken in.

The indication that we apply what we know is shown by how we live our life.

Philippians 3:10 (AMP) 10 And this, so that I may know Him [experientially, becoming more thoroughly acquainted with Him, understanding the remarkable wonders of His Person more completely] and [in that same way experience] the power of His resurrection [which overflows and is active in believers], and [that I may share] the fellowship of His sufferings, by being continually conformed [inwardly into His likeness even] to His death [dying as He did];

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

