Our behavior and the amount of peace we have in our lives is a result of our own choices

Matthew 3:16Amplified Bible (AMP) 16 After Jesus was baptized, He came up immediately out of the water; and behold, the heavens were opened, and he (John) saw the [a]Spirit of God descending as a dove and lighting on Him (Jesus),

Sometimes the Holy Spirit is symbolized by a dove. The dove is a very gentle bird. We all have the Holy Spirit but sometimes we limit the Holy Spirit because we do not know how to behave so the Holy Spirit can live through our lives. It can be difficult to hear from the Holy Spirit when we are constantly trying to control our lives rather than letting the Holy Spirit to control our lives. Sometimes we need to be quiet enough to allow the Holy Spirit to work. A dove resides in a peaceful and loving atmosphere. We can create an atmosphere in our lives that the Holy Spirit can be comfortable in at all times.

We can be peaceful and represent God in a great way. Our behavior and the amount of peace we have in our lives is a result of our own choices. Bad things happen and there may not be peace around us, but it is up to us not to let those bad things impact our behavior and our attitude about life.

It takes practice to learn how to let the Holy Spirit lead our lives. It does not happen overnight. It is our nature to want to control everything and everyone around us rather than to wait patiently, hear from God, and live in peace knowing that God is taking care of certain things that we tend to think we should control.

 Ephesians 4:29-31Amplified Bible (AMP) 29 Do not let unwholesome [foul, profane, worthless, vulgar] words ever come out of your mouth, but only such speech as is good for building up others, according to the need and the occasion, so that it will be a blessing to those who hear [you speak]. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God [but seek to please Him], by whom you were sealed and marked [branded as God’s own] for the day of redemption [the final deliverance from the consequences of sin]. 31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor [perpetual animosity, resentment, strife, fault-finding] and slander be put away from you, along with every kind of malice [all spitefulness, verbal abuse, malevolence].

We have wonderful gift of the Holy Spirit living inside of us. We need to be careful the way we choose to live our lives because we do not want to offend the Holy Spirit. The way we talk can grieve the Holy Spirit. It also takes a lot of practice to not get ourselves into trouble by the words we speak. Words are so, so, powerful in not only our lives, but the lives of others who they may impact when spoken. Most of the things we fuss over and have to get the last word in really do not matter in the big picture. The power of life and death are in the tongue.

Proverbs 18:21Amplified Bible (AMP) 21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it and indulge it will eat its fruit and bear the consequences of their words.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

