Get something out of your trial rather than let it get something out of you

Colossians 3:12-14 (AMP) 12 Clothe yourselves therefore, as God’s own chosen ones (His own picked representatives), [who are] purified and holy and well-beloved [by God Himself, by putting on behavior marked by] tenderhearted pity and mercy, kind feeling, a lowly opinion of yourselves, gentle ways, [and] patience [which is tireless and long-suffering, and has the power to endure whatever comes, with good temper]. 13 Be gentle and forbearing with one another and, if one has a difference (a grievance or complaint) against another, readily pardoning each other; even as the Lord has [freely] forgiven you, so must you also [forgive]. 14 And above all these [put on] love and enfold yourselves with the bond of perfectness [which binds everything together completely in ideal harmony].

We all have difficult situations in life, but it is up to us not to become bitter and harsh because of our situations. We can let God’s goodness flow through us. We do not have to be difficult to get along with because we’ve had a hard day, week, month, year, or life. We cannot let trials and bad situation determine our attitude or our future. It is up to us to maintain a positive attitude no matter how bad our situations may be.

We are to put on love. How do we do that? We are to seek the things from above and set our mind and keep it set on the higher things rather than the things that happen on earth. It is better for us to think about the good things rather than the bad things. When we focus on the negative we become negative. We can increase our joy immediately when we begin to look at the positive things in life and set our mind on the great things God can do for us in our situation rather than dwell on everything we think is going wrong.

When we go through trial we can come out two ways – bitter or tender hearted and caring because we understand what others may be going through. Get something out of your trial rather than let it get something out of you. Sometimes we become bitter and live in unforgiveness after enduring a trial. Forgiveness a gift. Not just a gift for the person you forgive but a gift for yourself. You can choose to live in hate or love – but the bottom line is, it is a choice.   The result is bitterness or happiness. God gives us power to love our enemies and pray for those who hurt us.

Our whole life can change when we learn to overcome evil with good.

Romans 12:17-21Amplified Bible (AMP) 17 Repay no one evil for evil, but take thought for what is honest and proper and noble [aiming to be above reproach] in the sight of everyone. 18 If possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. 19 Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave the way open for [God’s] wrath; for it is written, Vengeance is Mine, I will repay (requite), says the Lord. 20 But if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals upon his head. 21 Do not let yourself be overcome by evil, but overcome (master) evil with good.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

