What we roll over in our mind eventually comes to action

Romans 8:5-7 (AMP) For those who are according to the flesh and are controlled by its unholy desires set their minds on and [a]pursue those things which gratify the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit and are controlled by the desires of the Spirit set their minds on and [b]seek those things which gratify the [Holy] Spirit. Now the mind of the flesh [which is sense and reason without the Holy Spirit] is death [death that [c]comprises all the miseries arising from sin, both here and hereafter]. But the mind of the [Holy] Spirit is life and [soul] peace [both now and forever]. [That is] because the mind of the flesh [with its carnal thoughts and purposes] is hostile to God, for it does not submit itself to God’s Law; indeed it cannot.

If you think about something long enough, you will likely do that thing, whether it is good or bad for you. That is our human flesh and that is our human nature. What we roll over in our mind eventually comes to action many times. That is why it is vitally important to pay attention to what we are thinking about. Our thoughts many times turn into actions. When you feel like your mind is not going in the right direction, we can turn to Jesus and ask Him to change our thoughts.

We can reason ourselves into thinking anything we want to. There are a lot of times I might want something so bad that I twist just a little bit what I know I should not be twisting to get what my flesh wants. When that happens, I might face another tempting situation so I have an opportunity to get it right the next time around. We have to get out of our head and living off the top of our head. It’s time to not only ask how we think and feel about something, but rather ask God what He thinks about our situation.

We do not owe our flesh anything and it is not our job to keep it happy. God will help us remain happy. The happiness we feel by choosing to take right actions cannot be replaced by temporary pleasing of our fleshly desires. The next time your feelings try to rule your decisions, don’t give into them. We can kill temporary desires by not giving into them. Discipline takes putting ourselves through a little discomfort but the reward we will get from God for doing so will be well worth it.

Romans 8:12 (AMP) 12 So then, brethren, we are debtors, but not to the flesh [we are not obligated to our carnal nature], to live [a life ruled by the standards set up by the dictates] of the flesh.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

