Little by little our circumstances change us – from the inside out

Psalm 23:1-6 The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack. He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my life (my self); He leads me in the paths of righteousness [uprightness and right standing with Him—not for my earning it, but] for His name’s sake. Yes, though I walk through the [deep, sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with [a]oil; my [brimming] cup runs over. Surely or only goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, and through the length of my days the house of the Lord [and His presence] shall be my dwelling place.                                                                  

I shall not lack does not mean you will have everything you want, but it means you will be content when you do not have what you want. God may even change our desires for things when we come into relationship with Him. When we enter the rest of God, we feel peaceful and content with what we have. We can enter the rest of God when we know what to do and what not to do in situations. When we enter the rest of God we trust he will take care of things and we don’t try to figure everything out ourselves. No matter what our problem is, God has a plan. We can choose to lie down in green pastures and enter the rest of God having peace in our situation, or we can allow God to make us wait so we have no choice but to enter the rest of God.

We tend to get overly concerned with our outer life rather than our inner life – what is going on inside of us.

Most of us are led by what we feel and take actions based on our feelings. God wants us to renew our mind and use our free-will to choose His will for our life. It takes going through a few things for some of us before we get to the point where that becomes a habitual response to trust God to help in trials we endure in life. We grow in trials and we learn to think like God thinks. Little by little our circumstances change us – from the inside out. We can learn to enjoy our trials – because we know that God cares about us and has our best interests in mind when we have trials.

Our mind has to be renewed in order to think right. Our trials help us to think differently about life. Our trials help us to know what we can control and what we cannot control. Once we understand God’s love for us in our trial, then we enter the rest of God. We have nothing to fear in our trials because God is with us each and every step of the way.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

