The reality is, we are just passing through this life before we reach our permanent home

Romans 6:1-2Amplified Bible (AMP) 6 What shall we say [to all this]? Are we to remain in sin in order that God’s grace (favor and mercy) may multiply and overflow? Certainly not! How can we who died to sin live in it any longer?

Even though we are dead to sin, sin is not dead to us. Sin is alive and well. There are times part of me wants to do good things and part of me wants to do bad things – that is a common struggle for many of us. The spirit of God wants us and so does the spirit of the devil. That’s why we have a difficult time resisting temptation. How can we get to the point where we want to do good all of the time? Part of it is humbling ourselves to God, admitting our imperfections and sharing our temptations, and asking God for help. God is going to help us – we just have to recognize we need the help and then when we recognize it, ask for the help we need.

Romans 6:11 (AMP) 11 Even so consider yourselves also dead to sin and your relation to it broken, but alive to God [living in unbroken fellowship with Him] in Christ Jesus. 

When we consider ourselves – it is considering how we think. We will never be able to live beyond our attitude and thoughts. If we do not believe we are dead to sin then we are going to struggle with feelings of guilt often. It is time we believe what the bible says about forgiveness of sins not what the devil says.

Romans 6:12-13Amplified Bible (AMP) 12 Let not sin therefore rule as king in your mortal (short-lived, perishable) bodies, to make you yield to its cravings and be subject to its lusts and evil passions. 13 Do not continue offering or yielding your bodily members [and [a]faculties] to sin as instruments (tools) of wickedness. But offer and yield yourselves to God as though you have been raised from the dead to [perpetual] life, and your bodily members [and [b]faculties] to God, presenting them as implements of righteousness. 

We are never going to reach the point of perfection. When we recognize our sins and pray that to resist temptations we will face for the day we will see changes in our behavior little by little, step by step. It will be difficult to grow if we focus on everything we do wrong without focusing on what we do right. We can change.

We cannot have the expectation that just because we pray we will not ever be tempted, but we can expect to have the strength to resist the temptations we face each day. God will give us the strength we need for each day.

The reality is, we are just passing through this life before we reach our permanent home. We have options on how we choose to live this life here on earth. Through the power of God we can resist the temptations to give into how we feel and do the right thing each and every day.

1 Peter 2:11 (AMP) 11 Beloved, I implore you as aliens and strangers and exiles [in this world] to abstain from the sensual urges (the evil desires, the passions of the flesh, your lower nature) that wage war against the soul.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

