God has put the Holy Spirit in us to prompt us to know what we need to do in life

Mark 8:34 (AMP) 34 And Jesus called [to Him] the throng with His disciples and said to them, If anyone intends to come after Me, let him deny himself [forget, ignore, disown, and [a]lose sight of himself and his own interests] and take up his cross, and [[b]joining Me as a disciple and siding with My party] follow [c]with Me [continually, cleaving steadfastly to Me].

It does not sound like fun to forget and lose sight of ourselves. While the principle of this is true – it does not mean that we do not take care of ourselves. We have to have balance in this area and not get to the point where we burn ourselves out by following only this scripture and not reading the bible in its entirety. We tend to get out of balance in certain areas by focusing on one scripture and forgetting about the rest. The key is balance when looking at scriptures like this.

John 10:10 (AMP) 10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it [a]overflows).

So now we understand balance we can talk about Mark 8:34 a little more. A lot of us go to church and just soak in as much as we can. We don’t always give out what we soak in and sometimes keep it all for ourselves. God wants us to reach out and bless other people. Sometimes God prompts us to bless someone and we really do not want to bless them because it will be inconvenient to us. We need to remember that when God asks us to do something it is for our good. The key is not caring more about ourselves then we do the will of God. There’s much blessings for us when we just follow the leading and guiding of the Holy Spirit.

Mark 14:3-8Amplified Bible (AMP) And while He was in Bethany, [a guest] in the house of Simon the leper, as He was reclining [at table], a woman came with an alabaster jar of ointment ([a]perfume) of pure nard, very costly and precious; and she broke the jar and poured [the perfume] over His head. But there were some who were moved with indignation and said to themselves, To what purpose was the ointment ([b]perfume) thus wasted? For it was possible to have sold this [perfume] for more than 300 denarii [a laboring man’s wages for a year] and to have given [the money] to the poor. And they censured and reproved her. But Jesus said, Let her alone; why are you troubling her? She has done a good and beautiful thing to Me [praiseworthy and noble]. For you always have the poor with you, and whenever you wish you can do good to them; but you will not always have Me. She has done what she could; she came beforehand to anoint My body for the burial.

That bottle of perfume was worth a year’s wages and it sounds Godly and unselfish to give it to the poor. Jesus was going to go through the worst time of her life. This woman poured her love upon him in the only way she knew how. She followed the lead of God to do something like this regardless of what others thought she should do. God has put the Holy Spirit in us to prompt us to know what we need to do in life.

Romans 7:6 (AMP) But now we are discharged from the Law and have terminated all intercourse with it, having died to what once restrained and held us captive. So now we serve not under [obedience to] the old code of written regulations, but [under obedience to the promptings] of the Spirit in newness [of life].

Jesus died so we did not have to live a selfish life.

2 Corinthians 5:15 (AMP) 15 And He died for all, so that all those who live might live no longer to and for themselves, but to and for Him Who died and was raised again for their sake.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

