When we are focused on self-pity we only see what we do not have rather than what we do have

 Galatians 5:19-21 (AMP) 19 Now the doings (practices) of the flesh are clear (obvious): they are immorality, impurity, indecency, 20 Idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, anger (ill temper), selfishness, divisions (dissensions), party spirit (factions, sects with peculiar opinions, heresies), 21 Envy, drunkenness, carousing, and the like. I warn you beforehand, just as I did previously, that those who do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

We can have pity or compassion for people who are hurting. It is a good thing to be moved by compassion for others. When we are moved by compassion for others, we have less of a tendency to have pity for ourselves. When we start to feel sorry for ourselves then that can become idolatry. We are thinking of ourselves and how we feel above other things. Life is more than about us and our feelings. When something goes wrong the first thing we do is feel sorry for ourselves. We can become addicted to self-pity.

We all want to enjoy life and be happy and there always will be times when we feel sad. God has given us tools to work through our sadness in a healthy way. For example, it is healthy to grieve when we lose those we love but we don’t want a spirit of grief to take over us to the point where it runs our lives. We can take time to grieve and then move forward in life. We do not want sadness and self-pity keeping us in a rut.

When we turn to self-pity, our whole world becomes about us. When we become too focused on ourselves then it becomes difficult to get our mind off of ourselves. When our mind is on ourselves all of the time it is difficult for us to be a blessing to someone else because we are so wrapped up in our own life that we don’t recognize some of the small simple blessings we can give others each day. When we are focused on self-pity we only see what we do not have rather than what we do have.

When we focus on blessing others, then God focuses on blessing us. We should not be concerned about the blessings we didn’t get because when we help someone else, God will ensure that we in turn receive blessings. I would rather receive blessings from God than from my own effort. Unfortunately we are more inclined to think of what we don’t have rather than what we do have.

We all have problems but just imagine for a minute that you had all of your problems and did not have Christ. Do not waste another moment in self-pity and feeling sorry for yourself.

2 Corinthians 7:10-11Amplified Bible (AMP) 10 For godly grief and the pain God is permitted to direct, produce a repentance that leads and contributes to salvation and deliverance from evil, and it never brings regret; but worldly grief (the hopeless sorrow that is characteristic of the pagan world) is deadly [breeding and ending in death]. 11 For [you can look back now and] observe what this same godly sorrow has done for you and has produced in you: what eagerness and earnest care to explain and clear yourselves [of all [a]complicity in the condoning of incest], what indignation [at the sin], what alarm, what yearning, what zeal [to do justice to all concerned], what readiness to mete out punishment [[b]to the offender]! At every point you have proved yourselves cleared and guiltless in the matter.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

