Change is something that we have to desire in order for it to happen

2 Corinthians 3:8 (AMP) Why should not the dispensation of the Spirit [this spiritual [a]ministry whose task it is to cause men to obtain and be governed by the Holy Spirit] be attended with much greater and more splendid glory? 

We all can be led by the Holy Spirit. We can live a life where we are filled with the Holy Spirit all of the time. We can be overflowing with the presence and the power of the Holy Spirit. We can make a difference in someone else’s life when we are filled with the Holy Spirit and living out God’s will. Jesus was man on earth, then God gave us the holy spirit so many of us could carry out His will on earth.

In order for us to love ourselves, it is helpful to understand ourselves a little bit better. Being led by the Holy Spirit does not come naturally. Most of us naturally, want to do what we want to do. When we learn to be led by the Holy Spirit we learn to do what God would do in situations in life. We know certain things we should do but we just choose not to do them. I may want to react negatively to something my husband does that upsets me, but do I really need to and what impact will that have? Sometimes I may need to react, but based on being led by the Holy Spirit to do it in the right way and at the right time. I’m certainly not at a place of perfection, but I will always strive to not let my emotions lead my decisions and actions in life.

Our emotions tell us what we want based off of how we feel. They really don’t tell us to be led by the spirit. It is so, so, easy to live by our feelings. Our body is only able to do what we train it to do. When we train it to be led more by our feelings rather than the Holy Spirit then that is the way we carry out our actions. It will take time to train our body to be led by the Holy Spirit.

1 Thessalonians 5:22-24 (AMP) 22 Abstain from evil [shrink from it and keep aloof from it] in whatever form or whatever kind it may be. 23 And may the God of peace Himself sanctify you through and through [separate you from profane things, make you pure and wholly consecrated to God]; and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved sound and complete [and found] blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah). 24 Faithful is He Who is calling you [to Himself] and utterly trustworthy, and He will also do it [fulfill His call by hallowing and keeping you]. 

It seems like we know what we need to do but do the opposite quite often. Thank God that we have a God who knows us and loves us despite our actions! The more we feed our spirit with the Word of God the more it begins to change our mind and our emotions. Change does not happen overnight and God cannot force us to change. Change is something that we have to desire in order for it to happen. 

Romans 7:15-25 (AMP) 15 For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled, bewildered]. I do not practice or accomplish what I wish, but I do the very thing that I loathe [[a]which my moral instinct condemns]. 16 Now if I do [habitually] what is contrary to my desire, [that means that] I acknowledge and agree that the Law is good (morally excellent) and that I take sides with it. 17 However, it is no longer I who do the deed, but the sin [principle] which is at home in me and has possession of me. 18 For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot perform it. [I have the intention and urge to do what is right, but no power to carry it out.] 19 For I fail to practice the good deeds I desire to do, but the evil deeds that I do not desire to do are what I am [ever] doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not desire to do, it is no longer I doing it [it is not myself that acts], but the sin [principle] which dwells within me [[b]fixed and operating in my soul]. 21 So I find it to be a law (rule of action of my being) that when I want to do what is right and good, evil is ever present with me and I am subject to its insistent demands. 22 For I endorse and delight in the Law of God in my inmost self [with my new nature]. 23 But I discern in my bodily members [[c]in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh] a different law (rule of action) at war against the law of my mind (my reason) and making me a prisoner to the law of sin that dwells in my bodily organs [[d]in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh]. 24 O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am! Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death? 25 O thank God! [He will!] through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One) our Lord! So then indeed I, of myself with the mind and heart, serve the Law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

