I don’t always feel like doing the right thing, but I know God can help me through that

Galatians 5:1 (AMP) 13 For you, brethren, were [indeed] called to freedom; only [do not let your] freedom be an incentive to your flesh and an opportunity or excuse [for [a]selfishness], but through love you should serve one another. 

The bible talks about others more than self. Sometimes we tend to have our thinking backwards and think more of ourselves then we do others. We were born selfish. When we give our life to Christ we know we need to start doing the right thing for others even when we do not feel like it. I don’t always feel like doing the right thing, but I know God can help me through that.

When we are selfish we will never truly be happy because we are always thinking of why things happen to us or why thing are not happening to us that happens to other people.

Luke 4:28-30 (AMP) 28 When they heard these things, all the people in the synagogue were filled with rage. 29 And rising up, they pushed and drove Him out of the town, and [laying hold of Him] they led Him to the [projecting] upper part of the hill on which their town was built, that they might hurl Him headlong down [over the cliff]. 30 But passing through their midst, He went on His way.  

Jesus went about doing for others on a regular basis. When we take a step to serve God, many times those we love seem to be against us. Jesus always set out to do for others. People didn’t like the way Jesus spoke and wanted to derail him from what he set out to do. That same thing can happen to us when we set out on our Christian walk – people will discourage us. Jesus did not let the rejection of people stop him from helping others because he knew there were a lot of people that need help. Jesus didn’t argue with those who were against him.

There were a lot of people that needed help that Jesus didn’t help – because they didn’t want the help. Remember that when trying to help those around you. Unfortunately when others indicate they do not need our help we take it personally and feel rejected. We can only help those who want help – we cannot help someone who has no interest in our help. The devil will use rejection as a way to keep us from helping others – do not fall into that trap. 

1 Peter 5:8 (AMP) Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring [[a]in fierce hunger], seeking someone to seize upon and devour.

We do not ever want to wear ourselves out and never thinking of ourselves, but we also don’t want to be out of balance and always think of ourselves and our needs. We tend to get out of balance and live in extremes when it comes to living for others or living for ourselves. Balance is the key to everything we face in life.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

