If we choose not to deal with something from our past it will deal with us

Isaiah 43:18-19 (AMP) 18 Do not [earnestly] remember the former things; neither consider the things of old. 19 Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. 

It is ok to grieve what we need to grieve, but it is important to not let grief keep us from moving forward. We grieve things that have happened to us in the past. In order to move forward we truly have to get over past circumstances and let our past circumstances make us stronger. God has great things planned for us but we have to let go of some of the things from our past in order to live out God’s plan for our lives.

There’s healthy grieving and unhealthy grieving. We all have loss. But we also have to remember that at the end of a chapter a new one follows. The grieving process is actually healthy if we go through it. When we run away from a situation, it is not necessarily allowing us to go through a process. The process allows us to feel the pain we have in regards to a situation. But there comes a point when it is time for the process to further develop our character. We can get stuck in the middle of the process by staying sad, angry, or even bitter about some things from the past.

If we choose not to deal with something from our past it will deal with us. Unfortunately the way it deals with us is by giving us undesirable characteristics. Life may have been incredibly unfair to you and there is no understanding in how people could be so bad in certain situations but there’s time to put closure to some of the bad things that have happened in the past. It is not wrong to feel anger and even bitterness about what happened in the past, but you don’t want to keep that anger and bitterness forever. It is healthier for us to work through those feelings until we no longer allow those feelings to control our current behaviors.

It is time to move forward. As difficult as that may seem, remember that God is on your side. God is our comforter and will get us through what it is necessary for us to get through.

Isaiah 61:3 (AMP) To grant [consolation and joy] to those who mourn in Zion—to give them an ornament (a garland or diadem) of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, the garment [expressive] of praise instead of a heavy, burdened, and failing spirit—that they may be called oaks of righteousness [lofty, strong, and magnificent, distinguished for uprightness, justice, and right standing with God], the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

