We cannot control the behavior of other people but we can change our attitude about people

Matthew 9:13 (AMP)13 Go and learn what this means: I desire mercy [that is, [a]readiness to help those in trouble] and not sacrifice and sacrificial victims. For I came not to call and invite [to repentance] the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with God), but sinners (the erring ones and all those not free from sin). 

God freely forgives us. Mercy gives us a fresh start every single day. We sure do not behave similarly in the relationships we are in. Usually people who have bad behavior have some bad things going on – on the inside of them. It doesn’t excuse their behavior but it may help us to understand the behavior. We can meet people where they are at on their journey rather than expecting them to behave the way we think they should.

No matter how bad someone else behaves we should not allow it to change our behavior. When we act in unforgiveness and hold bitterness and resentment – it is changing our behavior. Stop and realize that we cannot control the behavior of other people but we can change our attitude about people. Confront only what God wants you to confront, and the rest, let go. When we stay in unforgiveness it does nothing but poison our own soul.

Giving mercy to people can become natural to us. It takes practice to choose to do what is right because God wants us to do it – even when it irritates us to do what is right – we are growing spiritually in an amazing way.

Luke 6:36-38 (AMP) 36 So be merciful (sympathetic, tender, responsive, and compassionate) even as your Father is [all these]. 37 Judge not [neither pronouncing judgment nor subjecting to censure], and you will not be judged; do not condemn and pronounce guilty, and you will not be condemned and pronounced guilty; acquit and forgive and [a]release (give up resentment, let it drop), and you will be acquitted and forgiven and [b]released. 38 Give, and [gifts] will be given to you; good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over, will they pour [c]into [the pouch formed by] the bosom [of your robe and used as a bag]. For with the measure you deal out [with the measure you use when you confer benefits on others], it will be measured back to you.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

