It is time to take action and find happiness in our situation and move forward in life

John 5:1-8 (AMP) 5 Later on there was a Jewish festival (feast) for which Jesus went up to Jerusalem. Now there is in Jerusalem a pool near the Sheep Gate. This pool in the Hebrew is called Bethesda, having five porches (alcoves, colonnades, doorways). In these lay a great number of sick folk—some blind, some crippled, and some paralyzed (shriveled up)—[a]waiting for the bubbling up of the water. For an angel of the Lord went down at appointed seasons into the pool and moved and stirred up the water; whoever then first, after the stirring up of the water, stepped in was cured of whatever disease with which he was afflicted. There was a certain man there who had suffered with a deep-seated and lingering disorder for thirty-eight years. When Jesus noticed him lying there [helpless], knowing that he had already been a long time in that condition, He said to him, Do you want to become well? [Are you really in earnest about getting well?] The invalid answered, Sir, I have nobody when the water is moving to put me into the pool; but while I am trying to come [into it] myself, somebody else steps down ahead of me. Jesus said to him, Get up! Pick up your bed (sleeping pad) and walk!

This fella was laying by the pool for 38 years and was waiting for somebody else to put him in the pool. Sometimes we are that way and are waiting for somebody else to do something to change our situation. Well maybe that somebody that needs to change the situation is YOU. We all have responsibility in our situation.

Romans 12:11(AMP) 11 Never lag in zeal and in earnest endeavor; be aglow and burning with the Spirit, serving the Lord. 

Christianity is not a passive religion. As Christians we have to be active. Some people just lay around and wait for a miracle without taking action to do anything to make things better. It’s time we ask ourselves how long have we been in the same condition. It is time to take action and find happiness in our situation and move forward in life, or take action and do what we can if there something we should be doing to change the situation.

Colossians 3:23-24 (AMP) 23 Whatever may be your task, work at it heartily (from the soul), as [something done] for the Lord and not for men, 24 Knowing [with all certainty] that it is from the Lord [and not from men] that you will receive the inheritance which is your [real] reward. [The One Whom] you are actually serving [is] the Lord Christ (the Messiah). 

The active part we take in Christianity is to work for the Lord rather than people. We can do things to keep people happy and it may be things God doesn’t even want us to do. When that happens, we just find ourselves exhausted. I would rather have a reward from God for my Christian works because I am doing what I’m doing at his direction rather than recognition from people at church because I’m doing things to impress them. Examine your motives. If you feel tired and exhausted every day you may be out of balance a little bit in this area. I’m not saying there are not times in life that we are not exhausted, but I am saying that if this is a pattern it may be time to have a conversation with God to see if the activities you are doing in the day line up with what He is asking you to do.

Many times we do Christian works for people because we get recognition from people on the great works we are doing. When we know who we are in Christ we do not need that recognition from people. Who are you trying to impress – God or people?

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

