We cannot rescue people who do not want to be rescued

Matthew 25:1-10 (AMP) 25 Then the kingdom of heaven shall be likened to ten virgins who took their lamps and went to meet the bridegroom. Five of them were foolish (thoughtless, without forethought) and five were wise (sensible, intelligent, and prudent). For when the foolish took their lamps, they did not take any [extra] oil with them; But the wise took flasks of oil along with them [also] with their lamps. While the bridegroom lingered and was slow in coming, they all began nodding their heads, and they fell asleep. But at midnight there was a shout, Behold, the bridegroom! Go out to meet him! Then all those virgins got up and put their own lamps in order. And the foolish said to the wise, Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out. But the wise replied, There will not be enough for us and for you; go instead to the dealers and buy for yourselves. 10 But while they were going away to buy, the bridegroom came, and those who were prepared went in with him to the marriage feast; and the door was shut.

The devil does not want us to make spiritual progress. It is that simple. We must be determined and persistent in developing our spiritual maturity. Satan will derail us from our progress in any way that he can.

One thing that can derail us is getting entangled in other people’s problems. Sometimes we do this and the person we want to help has no intention of getting better. We cannot rescue people who do not want to be rescued or people who God wants to rescue in a different way. We can get entangled in good intentioned situations that just might keep us from our purpose that God has for us. As a Christian we want to help others but we just cannot fix someone who does not want to be fixed.

Sometimes we are called to help someone but then we let their negative behavior infect us rather than let our behavior rub off on them. We really have to know who we are in Christ in order to help someone who consistently displays negative behavior in order for the behavior not to rub off on us.

God gives us all equal opportunity ~ it is up to us to act on the opportunity that God has given us.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

