When we have bad habits it is because we have set our mind on our bad habits

Romans 12:21(AMP) 21 Do not let yourself be overcome by evil, but overcome (master) evil with good. 

We do most things we do out of habit. Habits are made through repetition and can be broken through repetition. It’s more important to focus on our good habits rather than the bad habits we have. When we focus on the good habits the bad habits will go away. When we make a habit of spending time with God, it will get rid of bad habits. We can overcome evil with good.

Romans 8:5 (AMP) For those who are according to the flesh and are controlled by its unholy desires set their minds on and [a]pursue those things which gratify the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit and are controlled by the desires of the Spirit set their minds on and [b]seek those things which gratify the [Holy] Spirit. 

When we have bad habits it is because we have set our mind on our bad habits. Our thoughts precede actions.

Colossians 3:1-2(AMP) 3 If then you have been raised with Christ [to a new life, thus sharing His resurrection from the dead], aim at and seek the [rich, eternal treasures] that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.  

We really can do just about anything we make our mind up to do. A lot of times things are the way they are is because we have made our own mess – and the mess started with thoughts in our head. Of course there are circumstances that are out of control and I am not talking about those situations but rather the situations that are the way they are based on some of the actions carried out by thoughts in your mind. When we set our mind for victory we will have victory.

Proverbs 18:20 (AMP) 20 A man’s [moral] self shall be filled with the fruit of his mouth; and with the consequence of his words he must be satisfied [whether good or evil]. 

Words have consequences. Why do we say some of the things we say? Because we have created a habit of saying whatever it is that comes into our mind. We can change the habit. I’m still working on changing that habit but hopefully, one day I will have mastered this with the help of God. Our words and our thoughts precede all of our actions.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When we have bad habits it is because we have set our mind on our bad habits

Leave a Reply

