Your storm does not have to steal your joy

Mark 4:35-40 (AMP)35 On that same day [when] evening had come, He said to them, Let us go over to the other side [of the lake]. 36 And leaving the throng, they took Him with them, [just] as He was, in the boat [in which He was sitting]. And other boats were with Him. And a furious storm of wind [[a]of hurricane proportions] arose, and the waves kept beating into the boat, so that it was already becoming filled. 38 But He [Himself] was in the stern [of the boat], asleep on the [leather] cushion; and they awoke Him and said to Him, Master, do You not care that we are perishing? 39 And He arose and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, Hush now! Be still (muzzled)! And the wind ceased ([b]sank to rest as if exhausted by its beating) and there was [immediately] a great calm ([c]a perfect peacefulness). 40 He said to them, Why are you so timid and fearful? How is it that you have no faith (no [d]firmly relying trust)? 

When Jesus says it is time to go to the other side, then we will end up on the other side. When we decide to go to the other side and follow what God wants us to do we may face a few storms before we get there. Jesus rebuked the storm. Jesus did this without getting upset. We tend to handle our storms in not such a calm way. We need to make sure when we are facing a storm in life we remain how we are when there are no storms in life. Your storm does not have to steal your joy and peace. We have to face our storms rather than fearing our storm. We have to have the attitude that we already have conquered the storm we are facing.  

1 Corinthians 16:9 (AMP) For a wide door of opportunity for effectual [service] has opened to me [there, a great and promising one], and [there are] many adversaries. 

We have to make a choice to keep our mind and thoughts on the positive and good things. If we do not do so we can lose our focus as to what is there waiting for us on the other side. God has our journey planned. What we need to remember is that God has created the roads we travel specifically for us. We can enjoy every step we take knowing that we can conquer all things in Christ who gives us strength.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

