One habit at a time God changes us

Colossians 3:8-10 (AMP)   But now put away and rid yourselves [completely] of all these things: anger, rage, bad feeling toward others, curses and slander, and foulmouthed abuse and shameful utterances from your lips! Do not lie to one another, for you have stripped off the old (unregenerate) self with its evil practices, 10 And have clothed yourselves with the new [spiritual self], which is [ever in the process of being] renewed and remolded into [fuller and more perfect [a]knowledge upon] knowledge after the image (the likeness) of Him Who created it. 

We are to show others the change that God has made in our lives. When God changes in our life, it should be noticeable to others. Let your personality be a conduit for God’s light to shine through. Others should see a difference in us and know that God has changed us when we change our old nature.

Genesis 12:1-2 (AMP) 12 Now [in Haran] the Lord said to Abram, Go for yourself [for your own advantage] away from your country, from your relatives and your father’s house, to the land that I will show you. And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you [with abundant increase of favors] and make your name famous and distinguished, and you will be a blessing [dispensing good to others].  

Sometimes God is asking us to stay where we are, but other times He is asking to leave some things behind in order to move forward with Him. When God says it is time to move forward, then it is time to move forward. In order to move forward in life there are some old things we may need to get rid of. The power of God is inside us to enable us to do whatever it is we need to do.

Colossians 3:12-14 (AMP) 12 Clothe yourselves therefore, as God’s own chosen ones (His own picked representatives), [who are] purified and holy and well-beloved [by God Himself, by putting on behavior marked by] tenderhearted pity and mercy, kind feeling, a lowly opinion of yourselves, gentle ways, [and] patience [which is tireless and long-suffering, and has the power to endure whatever comes, with good temper]. 13 Be gentle and forbearing with one another and, if one has a difference (a grievance or complaint) against another, readily pardoning each other; even as the Lord has [freely] forgiven you, so must you also [forgive]. 14 And above all these [put on] love and enfold yourselves with the bond of perfectness [which binds everything together completely in ideal harmony]. 

We have to do more than just hope to change our old behavior but we have to also take action in order to see change. We don’t just hope bad behavior goes away, we have to be faithful and take action through prayer and obedience to make that bad behavior go away. God will continue to change us as we go through this pattern – one habit at a time God changes us.

When people can see how much God has changed us, there is no way for others to argue with that.   We are a light to the world and we have anointing on our life. That anointing enables us and gives us the ability to do and withstand mighty things. Where there is anointing there is life in something.

Sometimes we are not sensitive and notice the anointing is no longer in something that we are doing. That is something we can stay in tune with. Sometimes God anoints us for a period of time and we try to continue doing something that God is no longer in. When we stay active in prayer and faith God will let us know when it is time to take action and move on to something new and better in our life.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

