Take responsibility for your journey

John 5:1-9 (AMP) 5 Later on there was a Jewish festival (feast) for which Jesus went up to Jerusalem. Now there is in Jerusalem a pool near the Sheep Gate. This pool in the Hebrew is called Bethesda, having five porches (alcoves, colonnades, doorways). In these lay a great number of sick folk—some blind, some crippled, and some paralyzed (shriveled up)—[a]waiting for the bubbling up of the water. For an angel of the Lord went down at appointed seasons into the pool and moved and stirred up the water; whoever then first, after the stirring up of the water, stepped in was cured of whatever disease with which he was afflicted. There was a certain man there who had suffered with a deep-seated and lingering disorder for thirty-eight years. When Jesus noticed him lying there [helpless], knowing that he had already been a long time in that condition, He said to him, Do you want to become well? [Are you really in earnest about getting well?] The invalid answered, Sir, I have nobody when the water is moving to put me into the pool; but while I am trying to come [into it] myself, somebody else steps down ahead of me. Jesus said to him, Get up! Pick up your bed (sleeping pad) and walk! Instantly the man became well and recovered his strength and picked up his bed and walked. But that happened on the Sabbath. 

When someone was sick, there was a pool that had some type of healing. Once a year, sick people would wait for the bubbling of the water and whoever went in the water first, was healed. Jesus saw a man lying there for 38 years who was crippled. 38 years is a long time to lay in the same spot. Jesus asked him how long he was laying in that very same spot. We can ask ourselves the same question, how long have we been wallowing in our same situation in life without moving to get closer to the healing or progress we need to make in life. Jesus asked the man if he really wanted to get well.

We need to do our part to receive our breakthrough and not continue to do the same thing and expect different results. Life is not going to be easy and the sooner we realize that the sooner we can start becoming aggressive and do what we need to do to start seeing some miracles in life. We are anointed to do difficult things. If everything in life were easy then we would not need God. Don’t let the excuse of things being difficult become a stumbling block for you to see your miracle. Endurance will pay off but excuses will not do anything for you except keep you right in the middle of your mess. You can choose to stay in the mess or you can choose to pursue a miracle in your life ~ but it is up to you to do your part to see your miracle. Your part may just be to pray or it may be to do something that God is leading you to do. Whatever it may be – you have a part.

The important thing is that we do not give up on our journey. A lot of times we give up when we are led by our feelings rather than God. The word enables us to do anything we need to do in life ~ especially when our circumstances are not that great. We can do whatever we need to do. Jesus paid quite a price for our freedom, it is time to take responsibility for our journey.

Deuteronomy 30:11-14 (AMP) 11 For this commandment which I command you this day is not too difficult for you, nor is it far off. 12 It is not [a secret laid up] in heaven, that you should say, Who shall go up for us to heaven and bring it to us, that we may hear and do it? 13 Neither is it beyond the sea, that you should say, Who shall go over the sea for us and bring it to us, that we may hear and do it? 14 But the word is very near you, in your mouth and in your mind and in your heart, so that you can do it.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

