God loves us through our mistakes and our journey

Luke 5:1-5 (AMP) 5 Now it occurred that while the people pressed upon Jesus to hear the message of God, He was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret (Sea of Galilee). And He saw two boats drawn up by the lake, but the fishermen had gone down from them and were washing their nets. And getting into one of the boats, [the one] that belonged to Simon (Peter), He requested him to draw away a little from the shore. Then He sat down and continued to teach the crowd [of people] from the boat. When He had stopped speaking, He said to Simon (Peter), Put out into the deep [water], and lower your nets for a haul. And Simon (Peter) answered, Master, we toiled all night [[a]exhaustingly] and caught nothing [in our nets]. But [b]on the ground of Your word, I will lower the nets [again]. 

When we live by our feelings, we can become emotionally addicted. We need to have some depth in our lives and live a little deeper than just by how we feel. If we are living shallow lives we are never going to get the haul of blessings that God has in store for us for our lives.

Even though Peter did think it would be helpful to lower his net, he did it based off of what Jesus asked him to do. Peter was tired and really did not want to do this considering they had been fishing all night, didn’t catch anything and likely he was pretty tired. When Peter decided to go deeper with his net is when he saw the blessings.

Luke 5:6 (AMP) And when they had done this, they caught a great number of fish; and as their nets were [[a]at the point of] breaking,   

Until we begin to live deeper we may never experience the blessings that God has in store for us. This will take doing some things that we don’t want to do. We always want to live by how we feel at the moment rather than go deeper and do that thing that we know God is leading us to do. Nobody can live a deeper life for us – it is only something that we can do. We have to have God’s help to live this life, and he’ll help us. The important thing is you do not give up while you are going deeper.

God will change us little by little. We need to learn to enjoy the progress we make instead of focusing on how far we have to go. God loves us through our mistakes and our journey. Don’t expect to be perfect and have perfect performance in your journey – nobody is perfect and we are going to make mistakes along the way. When you make a mistake, accept it, move on.

God is more interested in changing us than he is in changing our circumstances. When we don’t resist the change we are going deeper.

Psalm 131:1-3 (AMP) Lord, my heart is not haughty, nor my eyes lofty; neither do I exercise myself in matters too great or in things too wonderful for me. Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with his mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me [ceased from fretting]. O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever.

If you would like to accept Jesus as your savior, and you are not quite sure how, it is as simple as saying a prayer to God letting Him know you are ready to accept Him into your life. Say this prayer if you would like to invite Jesus to live in your heart:

Father God, I love you and believe in you. I need you Lord and I am sorry for my sins and the way that I live. Lord, I want you in my life. I receive Jesus as my savior and Lord. I believe that Jesus died for me and rose from the dead. Lord take me as I am and make me the way you want me to be. God, thank you for saving me and being with me on my journey. I am looking forward to my journey with you Lord. I know you will equip me for my journey and I am glad I have you by my side as I walk this walk of Life. Thank you Lord, I love you. Amen

About lisajohnson401

My true belief is that the best way to preach is by our actions and not our words. However, we need some daily inspiration to keep us on our path. We as Christians have a responsibility not to judge others by our words but to show the love of Christ by loving them where they are at on their personal journey in life...and if they never turn their life over to Christ, continue to love them for who they are - after all God does.
This entry was posted in Daily Word Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

